Hollywood Honors the Crafts at The Hollywood Awards

Share Article

Film composer Danny Elfman, cinematographer Mandy Walker, editors Daniel P. Hanley and Mike Hill, production designer Sarah Greenwood, and costume designer Deborah Hopper to be feted at Hollywood Awards Gala

News Image
Each of these artists have made a significant contribution to cinema in their respective professions, and are sure to impress film audiences with the latest additions to their bodies of work this year.

The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards, co-chaired by Paul Haggis and presented by Starz, are pleased to announce their craft honorees for this year's Hollywood Awards.

Composer Danny Elfman will be given the "Hollywood Composer of the Year Award," Cinematographer Mandy Walker, A.C.S., will receive the "Hollywood Cinematographer of the Year Award," editors Daniel P. Hanley, A.C.E., and Mike Hill, A.C.E., will be honored with the "Hollywood Editor of the Year Award," production designer Sarah Greenwood, A.D.G., will receive the "Hollywood Production Designer of the Year Award" and costume designer Deborah Hopper, C.D.G., will be honored with the "Hollywood Costume Designer of the Year Award."

The gala ceremony will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills on October 27, 2008.

"We are excited to have these exceptionally talented artists honored for their outstanding work and creative vision at this year's festival," said Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival. "Each of these artists have made a significant contribution to cinema in their respective professions, and are sure to impress film audiences with the latest additions to their bodies of work this year."

Previous Hollywood Awards honorees and presenters have included Ben Affleck, Drew Barrymore, Annette Bening, Halle Berry, Russell Crowe, Penelope Cruz, Billy Crystal, Robert De Niro, Leonardo DiCaprio, Robert Downey Jr., Clint Eastwood, Harrison Ford, Jodie Foster, Richard Gere, Mel Gibson, Jake Gyllenhaal, Tom Hanks, Goldie Hawn, Anthony Hopkins, Angelina Jolie, Diane Keaton, Nicole Kidman, George Lucas, Demi Moore, Ellen Page, Michelle Pfeiffer, Brad Pitt, Susan Sarandon, Martin Scorsese, Will Smith, Steven Spielberg, Oliver Stone, John Travolta, Naomi Watts, and Robin Williams, among others.

About The Honorees:
Composer Danny Elfman received Oscar® nominations for his scores for "Men in Black," "Good Will Hunting" and "Big Fish." Most recently he composed the score for Universal's Guillermo del Toro's "Hellboy II: The Golden Army," Timur Bekmambetov's "Wanted" starring James McAvoy and Angelina Jolie for Universal, and Gus Van Sant's upcoming biographical drama "Milk," starring Sean Penn and Josh Brolin, which is scheduled for release in November from Focus Features. Elfman's other credits include "The Simpsons Movie," "Spider-Man," "Charlotte's Web," "Nacho Libre," "The Corpse Bride," "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," "Chicago," "Planet of the Apes," "Mission Impossible," "Dead Presidents," "Edward Scissorhands," "Dick Tracy," "Batman," and "Beetle Juice."

Cinematographer Mandy Walker's most recent project is Twentieth Century-Fox's romantic drama "Australia." Directed by Baz Luhrman and starring Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman, the film is due for release in November. Walker's other films include "Shattered Glass," "Australian Rules," "Lantana," "Walk the Talk," "The Well," "Love Serenade," and "Return Home." Walker was recognized with awards from the Australian Cinematographers Society for her work on the feature "Lantana" and the short "Parklands."

Editors Daniel P. Hanley and Mike Hill, longtime collaborators with director Ron Howard, won Oscars® for their work on "Apollo 13," and received Academy Award nominations for "A Beautiful Mind" and "Cinderella Man." Their latest film is Ron Howard's "Frost/Nixon" for Universal Pictures. Starring Frank Langella as Richard Nixon and Michael Sheen as David Frost, the film is due for release in October. Next, Hanley and Hill will edit Ron Howard's "Angels and Demons," which is based on the Dan Brown novel. Other films they have edited include "The Da Vinci Code," "The Missing," "How the Grinch Stole Christmas," "Edtv," "Ransom," "The Paper," "Far and Away," "Backdraft," "Parenthood," "Pet Sematary," "Willow," "Armed and Dangerous," "Cocoon," "Splash," and "Night Shift," among others.

Production designer Sarah Greenwood received Academy Award nominations for her work on Joe Wright's "Atonement" and "Pride & Prejudice." She also won the BAFTA Award for "Atonement." Her most recent film is DreamWorks' "The Soloist," also directed by Joe Wright. "The Soloist" is scheduled for release in November and stars Jamie Foxx, Robert Downey Jr. and Catherine Keener. Greenwood's other feature film credits include "Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day," "Starter for 10," "The Abduction Club," "Born Romantic," and "The Governess." Greenwood's career also includes production design for numerous TV movies and series.

Costume designer Deborah Hopper, who has worked on many of director Clint Eastwood's films, most recently served as costume designer on Eastwood's "The Changeling," which stars Angelina Jolie and John Malkovich, and is due for release from Universal in October, as well as Eastwood's "Gran Torino," scheduled for release in December from Warner Bros. Hopper's film credits include "Letters from Iwo Jima," "Flags of Our Fathers," "Million Dollar Baby," "Mystic River," "Blood Work," "Space Cowboys," and "Dear God," among others.

About The Hollywood Film Festival & Hollywood Awards:
The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival®, presented by Starz, will mark its return on October 22, 2008, to the state-of-the-art ArcLight Theatres in Hollywood for a weeklong series of screenings, seminars, competitions, awards and a special presentation of "Genre Cinema." Newly added to the festival line-up is the Hollywood Horror, Sci-Fi & Fantasy Film Festival in conjunction with Film Threat.

The Hollywood Film Festival® and Hollywood Awards® were created to bridge the gap between Hollywood and the global creative community, while at the same time honoring established Hollywood professionals. The festival is recognized as one of Hollywood's most prestigious celebrations of the motion picture art form, and includes screenings, world premieres and the star-studded Hollywood Awards. The Hollywood Awards were created to honor excellence in the art of filmmaking, as well as creative talent within the global creative community. The "World," "Film," "Breakthrough," "Star," "Movie of the Year," "New," and "Trailer" awards will be bestowed during the Gala Ceremony on October 27, 2008 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The festival and awards presenter is Starz Entertainment, LLC, a premium movie service provider operating in the United States. It offers 16 movie channels including the flagship Starz® and Encore® brands with approximately 16.3 million and 30.7 million subscribers respectively. Starz Entertainment airs more than 1,000 movies per month across its pay TV channels and offers advanced services including Starz HD, Starz On Demand and Vongo®. Starz Entertainment (http://www.starz.com) is an operating unit of Starz, LLC, which is a wholly owned subsidiary of Liberty Media Corporation that is attributed to Liberty Capital Group.

For more information please go to http://www.hollywoodfestival.com.

Festival Contact: 1.310.288.1882
Hollywood Film Festival®
433 N. Camden Drive, Suite 600
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

For Press Inquiries, please contact:
Shari Mesulam, Elise Freimuth or Guido Gotz at mPRm Public Relations
(323) 933-3399
smesulam @ mprm.com
efreimuth @ mprm.com
ggotz @ mprm.com


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Penny Austin

Email >
Visit website