Anti-Phishing Working Group Calls for Papers for eCrime 2008 Internet Security Research Conference

Share Article

eCrime topics to include papers from leading researchers, academicians and technologists on Internet security and phraud, phishing, spoofing, click-fraud, and crimeware

News Image
We've got a team of towering authorities in information security, privacy, and electronic crime to chair and staff our conference committees

The Anti-Phishing Working Group (APWG) announced today that the eCrime Researchers Summit (eCrime 2008), the world's premier conference for basic and applied research in electronic crime studies, is now accepting papers for its third annual conference to be held in Atlanta on October 15-16. eCrime 2008 will feature papers from leading researchers and technologists on Internet security, phraud, phishing, spoofing, electronic identity theft, click-fraud and crimeware. eCrime 2008 is made possible by a collaboration of principals from Stephens Institute of Technology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Baylor University, and the APWG.

The complete call for papers announcement can be viewed at:

"We've got a team of towering authorities in information security, privacy, and electronic crime to chair and staff our conference committees," said Foy Shiver, APWG Deputy Secretary General and Director of eCrime Researchers Summit Development. "Authors' exposure to these experts' opinions and direction will be of invaluable assistance to their research."

The General Chair of eCrime 2008 is Gary Warner, from the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Mr. Warner is the Director of Research in Computer Forensics at UAB, where he teaches and works to develop tools, techniques, and training to help eCrime investigators.

Program Co-Chairs for this year's conference are Susanne Wetzel of Stevens Institute of Technology and Randy Vaughn of Baylor University.

Randal Vaughn is active in Internet security with special interests in detecting, tracking and countering botnet formation and other eCrime activities. Mr. Vaughn lectures on Internet security, cyber warfare, telecommunications and software development at Baylor University's Hankamer School of Business.

Susanne Wetzel is on the faculty at the Computer Science Department of Stevens Institute of Technology. Her research interests are in security, cryptography and algorithmic number theory. In particular, her research is focused on wireless security, secret sharing, privacy, phishing, authentication, and biometrics.

The eCrime 2008 Steering Committee is comprised of Jean Camp, Indiana University; Dorothy Denning, Naval Postgraduate School; Zulfikar Ramzan, Symantec; John S. Quarterman, InternetPerils, Inc.; and Markus Jakobsson, PARC.

Original papers on all aspects of electronic crime are solicited for submission to eCrime '08. Topics of relevance include but are not limited to:

  • Phishing, pharming, click-fraud, crimeware, extortion and emerging electronic crime attacks.
  • Technical, legal, political, social and psychological aspects of fraud and fraud prevention.
  • Techniques to assess the risks and yields of attacks and the success rates of countermeasures.
  • Delivery techniques, including spam, voice mail and rank manipulation; and countermeasures.
  • Spoofing of different types, and applications to fraud.
  • Techniques to avoid detection, tracking and takedown; and ways to block such techniques.
  • Honeypot design, data mining, and forensic aspects of fraud prevention.
  • Design and evaluation of user interfaces in the context of fraud and network security.
  • Best practices related to digital forensics tools and techniques, investigative procedures, and evidence acquisition, handling and preservation.

eCrime 2008 General Chair Gary Warner, said, "It's clear that the criminals are working in an organized fashion to develop new technologies to expand their ability to steal our data, identities, and money. The APWG's e-Crimes Researchers Summit exists to develop and encourage the research that will be the best response to that challenge."

Paper submissions are due: June 5, 2008 (midnight, US East Coast time). eCrime 2008, like past conferences, will offer a cash award for the best overall paper and travel awards for those papers accepted for presentation at the event. Conference details for eCrime '08 can be found at

The APWG established the eCrime Researchers Summit in 2006, responding to the overwhelming number of quality research papers being submitted to its General Members' conferences from university research centers and industrial laboratories. APWG organized the inaugural eCrime Researchers Summit in Orlando with Florida State University, the National Center for Forensic Science at UCF and the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and, last year, eCrime 2007 was programmed in collaboration with Carnegie Mellon University's CyLab and the CERT/CC's Software Engineering Institute.

About the APWG
The APWG is an industry, law enforcement and government coalition focused on eliminating the identity theft and fraud that result from the growing problem of phishing, email spoofing, and crimeware. Membership is open to qualified financial institutions, online retailers, ISPs, the law enforcement community and solutions providers. There are more than 1,800 companies and government agencies participating in the APWG and more than 3,000 members. The APWG's Web site ( offers the public and industry information about phishing and email fraud, including identification and promotion of pragmatic technical solutions that provide immediate protection.

APWG's corporate sponsors include: 8e6 Technologies, AT&T (T), Able NV, ActivCard (ACTI), Adobe (ADBE), Afilias Inc., AhnLab, Anakam, BBN Technologies, BlueStreak, BrandMail, BrandProtect, Bsecure Technologies, Cisco (CSCO), Clear Search, Cloudmark, Comodo, Corillian (CORI), Cydelity, Cyveillance, DigiCert, DigitalEnvoy, DigitalResolve, Digital River, Earthlink (ELNK), eBay/PayPal (EBAY), Entrust (ENTU), Experian, eEye Fortinet, FrontPorch, F-Secure, Grisoft, GeoTrust, GlobalSign, GoDaddy, Goodmail Systems, GuardID Systems, IronPort, HitachiJoHo, ING Bank, Iconix, InternetIndentity, Internet Security Systems, IOvation, IS3, IT Matrix, Kaspersky Labs, Lenos Software, LightSpeed Systems, MailFrontier, MailShell, MarkMonitor, McAfee (MFE), MasterCard, MessageLevel, Microsoft (MSFT), Mirapoint, MySpace (NWS), MyPW, MX Logic, NameProtect, National Australia Bank (ASX: NAB) Netcraft, NetStar, Panda Software, Phoenix Technologies Inc. (PTEC), Quova, RSA SalesForce, Security (RSAS), SAIC, SecureBrain, Secure Computing (SCUR), S21sec, Sigaba, SoftForum, SOPHOS, SquareTrade, SurfControl, Symantec (SYMC), TDS Telecom, Telefonica (TEF), Trend Micro (TMIC), Tricerion, TriCipher, Tumbleweed Communications (TMWD), SurfControl (SRF.L), Vasco (VDSI), VeriSign (VRSN), Visa, Websense Inc. (WBSN), WholeSecurity, and Yahoo! (YHOO)

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website