The John Cotton Dana Award Expands to Offer More Grants for Outstanding Library Public Relations

Share Article

Eight $10,000 Grants to Be Awarded as Part of the Most Prestigious Award of the American Library Association

News Image
The John Cotton Dana Award (JCD) is being expanded to include eight $10,000 grants.

Libraries using innovative ways to conduct public relations efforts have more opportunities to benefit. The John Cotton Dana Award (JCD) is being expanded to include eight $10,000 grants.

The award is provided in conjunction with the H.W. Wilson Foundation, the American Library Association (ALA) and EBSCO Publishing. The award, which is managed by the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) division of ALA, honors outstanding library public relations.

The award is named after John Cotton Dana, the father of the modern library, credited with helping transition libraries from reading rooms to community centers. JCD submissions include strategic library communication campaigns from all sizes and types of libraries. Submissions include rebranding efforts, promoting unique archives, awareness campaigns and community partnerships. Entries may be submitted by any library, Friends group, consulting agency or service provider, excluding libraries represented by the JCD Committee members.

JCD entries are organized around the following areas: needs assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation. Libraries submit samples of their processes, research, media releases, media coverage or other results received plus evaluation of the results and other documentation and supporting materials that show the scope and effectiveness of the library’s strategic communication effort.

In recognition of their achievement, JCD award winners receive a cash development grant from the H.W. Wilson Foundation. The John Cotton Dana Awards are presented during an Awards Tea hosted by EBSCO Publishing held during the American Library Association annual conference.

Entry documents are available at: and entries must be received by March 15, 2012.

About the John Cotton Dana Award
The John Cotton Dana Award was inaugurated at the 1946 annual conference of the American Library Association. It was named after John Cotton Dana (1856-1929), a librarian called the father of the modern library.

About The H.W. Wilson Foundation
The H.W. Wilson Foundation was established in 1952 by Halsey W. Wilson, founder of The H.W. Wilson Company. Over the years the foundation has provided grants to libraries and library related causes. Since 1957 the foundation has supported scholarship grants to all library schools accredited by the American Library Association in the United States and Canada. Visit the foundation at

About EBSCO Publishing
EBSCO Publishing is the producer of EBSCOhost®, the world’s premier for-fee online research service, including full-text databases, subject indexes, point-of-care medical reference, historical digital archives, and eBooks. The company provides more than 350 databases and nearly 300,000 eBooks. Through a library of tens of thousands of full-text journals and magazines from renowned publishers, EBSCO serves the content needs of all researchers (Academic, Medical, K-12, Public Library, Corporate, Government, etc.). EBSCO is also the provider of EBSCO Discovery Service™ (EDS), which provides each institution with a fast, single search box for its entire collection, offering deeper indexing and more full-text searching of journals and magazines than any other discovery service ( For more information, visit the EBSCO Publishing Web site at: EBSCO Publishing is a division of EBSCO Industries Inc., one of the largest privately held companies in the United States.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kathleen McEvoy
Visit website