The Leading Hotels of the World Hosts 2011 Annual Convention at Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Share Article

Global Luxury Leader Honors Members for Outstanding Achievements

News Image
The convention underscores the partnership between LHW and its member hotels -- we leverage our scale by collaborating.

The Leading Hotels of the World recently hosted its Annual Convention, the most important global gathering on the company’s calendar, at the Hotel Okura in Amsterdam, from November 17 to 20. The theme of this year’s meeting was ‘Collaborative Innovation.’ Attendees comprised an impressive group of proprietors, managing directors, general managers, and sales and marketing executives from the world’s finest hotels, resorts and spas. Event participants were welcomed by Mr. Andrea Kracht, Chairman of Leading Hotels and owner of the Baur au Lac in Zurich, Switzerland. The attendees were collectively hosted at two Leading Hotels: Hotel Okura Amsterdam and De L’Europe.

Commenting on the significance of the convention, Leading Hotels President and CEO Ted Teng stated, “The convention underscores the partnership between LHW and its member hotels -- we leverage our scale by collaborating. I think this is the true founding principle of our company. The original 38 members did not meet to contract out some work and create an outsourced company. They said let’s work together to help each other. They saw the benefit of unity and the power of togetherness. Our aim is to grow that spirit even stronger.”

Among the notable speakers this year were William C. Taylor, Author and Founding Editor of Fast Company; Henry H. Harteveldt, Co-Founder of Atmosphere Research Group; Jean-Francois Van Boxmeer, Chairman Executive Board/CEO of Heineken N.V.; James Wallman, Editor of LS:N Global; Marije Vogelzang, Founder of Eating Design; and Drew Nieporent, Owner of Myriad Restaurant Group. Among the headliners leading lively interactive break-out sessions were Melissa Biggs Bradley, Founder of Indagare; and Peter Maulik, COO and Head of Commercial Strategy, and Rony Zibara, Partner and Innovation Director of Fahrenheit 212.

Additionally, awards for outstanding achievement and commitment to delivering an exceptional customer experience were presented to hotel members. Each honoree was presented with a handsome watch offered by long-time Leading Hotels supporter Blancpain, as well as a crystal trophy from Tiffany & Co.

Hotels that ranked number one in each of their categories were honored on the closing night of the convention at a gala black-tie dinner at the Scheepvaart Museum, the Netherlands maritime museum housed in a stately 17th-century building overlooking one of the city’s numerous, picturesque canals. During this glittering evening, additional awards were presented to the hotels that ranked the highest among the Commitment to Quality and Leaders Club Award winners.

This award is presented to one hotel in each of five regions that ranked highest on its most recent anonymous Leading Quality Assurance inspection. The winners by region were:

*GRAND PRIZE: Fairmont Le Montreux Palace - Montreux, Switzerland
Le Touessrok - Trou D’Eau Douce, Mauritius
Taj Lake Palace - Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
The Hay-Adams - Washington, D.C., USA
Miraflores Park Hotel - Lima, Peru

The 13th Annual Leaders Club Awards were determined based upon responses to post-stay questionnaires and letters the company received from Leaders Club Members, who have consistently complimented the hotels for their exceptional welcome and attention extended to all guests, and to Club Members in particular.

This year’s winners were:
*GRAND PRIZE: Excelsior Hotel Ernst - Cologne, Germany
Hotel d'Angleterre Geneva - Geneva, Switzerland
Brenner’s Park Hotel & Spa - Baden-Baden, Germany     

Undoubtedly the highlight of the gala was the announcement of the winner of the second annual Leading Legend Award who was selected based on nominations submitted by members of The Leading Hotels of the World, to recognize to acknowledge the men and women who have made meaningful contributions to the preservation and advancement of independent luxury hotels. This year’s winner was Jean-Marc Droulers, of Italy’s renowned Villa d’Este, which he joined as Executive Director in 1967 and became President and CEO in 1977.

About The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd.
The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd. is the largest luxury hospitality organization in the world, representing over 430 of the finest hotels, resorts and spas in over 80 countries. Its mission is to curate and champion an exclusive collection of independent properties, including grand palaces and intimate city hideaways, luxury tent enclaves and expansive self-contained resorts. Established in 1928 by several influential and forward-thinking European hoteliers, it started with 38 initial members. Its loyal customers demand levels of quality they have come to expect of the brand, while seeking authentic and enriching travel experiences. Leading Hotel members are utterly unique and boldly independent. To be considered for inclusion, a hotel must adhere to strict quality standards and master the art of extraordinary hospitality. For reservations, visit In the USA & Canada please call 1-800-223-6800 or contact a travel professional.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jennifer Oberstein
Visit website