College Football's Premier Coaching Award Returns September 17 - Cast Your Vote at for Your Favorite College Football Coach

Share Article

Liberty Mutual Kicks Off 2008 Coach of the Year Award with College Football Hall of Fame to Honor College Football Coaches for Responsibility on the Field and for Charity.

To celebrate the college football season and the college football coaches who inspire their teams and communities, Liberty Mutual Insurance is today kicking off its third annual Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.

Created in partnership with the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award calls upon fans to vote for college football coaches in each NCAA division who exhibit the greatest sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and overall excellence - on the field and in the community. Fans can cast their votes daily at now through December 6.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only award of its kind by allowing fans to help decide who they believe exemplifies excellence in coaching. Nearly 1 million votes were cast in 2007, with many voters sharing thoughtful and compelling commentary in support of their selections.

In addition to being the place to cast votes, includes original content such as weekly "Coach's Corner" videos - engaging discussions between Archie Manning and Kirk Herbstreit about responsible coaching - and a new "Sound Off" section that allows fans to share their opinions about why their coach deserves this honor, as well as a downloadable widget that provides access to the site, the ability to vote, real-time game scores, and more.

To post "Coach's Corner" videos on your blog or website, please use the embed code found at the following link

About the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year winners are celebrated in a permanent exhibit at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind. More than just a trophy, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award celebrates the positive impact coaches have on the lives of young people, their families and their communities. As a way of rewarding the accomplishments of coaches, Liberty Mutual donates on behalf of each winner $50,000 to the charitable organizations of their choice and a $20,000 grant to the winning schools' alumni association for enrichment or scholarship activities. To-date, Liberty Mutual has donated $400,000 to local charities and alumni associations on behalf of Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award winners - a total that will climb to $680,000 after this season.

Coach of the Year Eligibility and Timeline

All football head coaches at an NCAA-member college or university at all division levels are eligible for consideration. The timeline and process is:

  •     September 17 - December 6: Fans vote online at . The top 25 coaches with the most fan votes in each of the four NCAA divisions will then advance to an evaluation process using an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame
  •     December 9: The finalists are announced in conjunction with the National Football Foundation's Annual Awards program in New York City: 10 coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); and five coaches from the Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA), Division II, and Division III.
  •     December 12 - December 22: Fans vote online at among the finalists. A selection committee of College of Football Hall of Fame-inducted players and coaches and national media members also cast votes. Winners are determined using the following voting weight: Hall of Fame 55%, Media 25%, and Fans 20%.
  •     December 31: The 2008 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award recipients announced on ESPN during halftime of the Music City Bowl.

About Liberty Mutual
''Helping people live safer, more secure lives'' since 1912, Boston-based Liberty Mutual Group is a diversified global insurer and sixth-largest property and casualty insurer in the U.S. based on 2007 direct written premium. Liberty Mutual Group ranks 94th on the Fortune 500 list of largest U.S. corporations, based on 2007 revenue. The company has over 41,000 employees located in more than 900 offices throughout the world.

The eighth-largest auto and home insurer in the U.S., Liberty Mutual ( sells full lines of coverage for automobile, homeowners, valuable possessions, personal liability, and individual life insurance. The company is an industry leader in affinity partnerships, offering car and home insurance to employees and members of more than 10,000 companies, credit unions, professional associations and alumni groups.

About the National Football Foundation & the College Football Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, Play It Smart, the NFF-FWAA Football Forum, the NFF Gridiron Club of New York City, and scholarships of over $1 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Trophy, the Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. Learn more at or


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Glenn Greenberg
Visit website