Retired Academic Engineering Librarian from California Wins the International L. Ron Hubbard's Writers of the Future Contest

Share Article

Stephen Sottong turns to writing career after retirement

Writers Of The Future

Writers Of The Future

Stephen Sottong of Eureka, California will be honored at the 29th Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement awards being held on Sunday, 14 April 2013 at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles. The event will celebrate the annual winners in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests, where Stephen was the 1st quarter, 3rd place winner for this year, making it further than some several thousand others, and where his winning story, "Planetary Scouts," will also be published in the bestselling Science Fiction anthology series – L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume XXIX.

Stephen now calls himself a "stay at home writer" and has entered the contest 2 times before his win. In this case, the 3rd time is the charm.

Eleven other winners from all walks of life will be flown in from all corners of the globe. They will be treated to a week-long workshop taught by the contest blue ribbon panel of judges including Tim Powers (On Stranger Tides), followed by the gala awards ceremony.

The Contest was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 shortly after returning to the field of science fiction with his bestseller Battlefield Earth, and to date the contest has launched the careers of 11 New York Times bestselling authors.

For more information on the contest, go to

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website