Dave Wolverton aka David Farland Leading L. Ron Hubbard's Writers of the Future Contest Judging into its 30th Year

Share Article

Contest Winner from 26 Years Ago now acting as coordinating judge of the contest that launched his own career

Dave Wolverton

This is a tremendous honor. I love working with new authors, and I'm having a great time doing this.

Dave Wolverton announced today that he will continue to be lead judge for the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, one of the world’s largest, oldest, and most prestigious writing competitions. The first full quarter taking on the judging duties and combining that with his own successful career was a challenge, and a test. "It is going to work quite well," Dave announced.

The Writers of the Future Contest was initiated nearly thirty years ago by L. Ron Hubbard to help discover new talent in the field of science fiction and fantasy. Over the decades, hundreds of winners have gone on to critical acclaim and financial success.

Dave Wolverton was one of the early winners. As a college student he worked as a prize-writer, winning competitions instead of taking a day job. In 1987 he won the Gold Award for Best Short Story of the Year, and immediately afterward got a three-novel deal with Bantam Books. To date he has penned dozens of novels as Dave Wolverton in the science fiction genre, and as David Farland in fantasy.

Throughout his career he has also won numerous awards, including the Philip K. Dick Memorial Special Award for “Best Novel in the English Language,” the Whitney Award for “Best Novel of the Year,” and, just last month, the International Book Award for “Best Young Adult Novel of the Year.” He has hit the New York Times Bestseller list numerous times, and in 1999 set the Guinness Record for the world’s largest single-author, single-book signing.

“This is a tremendous honor,” Wolverton said, after being selected earlier this year. “I love working with new authors, and I'm having a great time doing this.”

Over the years, Wolverton has taught dozens of new authors who afterward went on to success, including such #1 New York Times Bestsellers as Brandon Sanderson (Wheel of Time), Brandon Mull (Fablehaven), and Stephenie Meyer (Twilight).

As Coordinating Judge for the Writers of the Future Contest, Wolverton reads entries and selects the finalists, semi-finalists and Honorable Mentions. In addition he edits the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents the Writers and Illustrators of the Future anthology and will help instruct winning authors at the annual winners workshop in April of next year.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website