International Writers of the Future 29th Anniversary Set for Live Internet Broadcast Worldwide

Share Article

Mark your calendar to watch the Writers of the Future Achievement Awards Ceremony Sunday, April 14, 6:30 PM (Pacific)

L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contest

The L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards ceremony, celebrating its 29th anniversary of the internationally-acclaimed Writers of the Future Contest and its companion Illustrators of the Future Contest, will be broadcast on Sunday, April 14th, 6:30 pm (Pacific), to a worldwide audience via Internet, it was announced today. Streaming will be live from where a special link will be set up. For those wishing to see the event in person in Los Angeles, RSVP by emailing contests(at)writersofthefuture(dot)com or calling 323-466-3310.

“This annual ceremony for new writers and illustrators of science fiction and fantasy is such a moving experience that we wanted all speculative fiction fans everywhere and the friends and families of this year’s winners to witness it,” said Joni Labaqui, the Contests’ director.

The evening ceremony will be held before a packed hall of invited guests, celebrities, and many of speculative fiction’s most popular writers and illustrators at the renowned Wilshire Ebell Theater in Los Angeles.

As the top names in the science fiction and fantasy world, Contest judges will be on hand to present the annual awards to this year’s writer and illustrator winners as well as the grand prize winner for each contest. Writer judges who will be attending include: Kevin J. Anderson, Gregory Benford, Eric Flint, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Dr. Yoji Kondo, Rebecca Moesta, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Mike Resnick, Robert J, Sawyer and Dave Wolverton. Illustrator judges will include: Robert Castillo, Larry Elmore, Stephen Hickman, Ron Lindahn, Val Lakey Lindahn, Gary Meyer and Cliff Nielsen.

Every quarter, three writers and three illustrators are selected by a panel of leading authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy. With no entry fee and judging done on an anonymous basis, the criterion is strictly merit. Beside first time publication, benefits include over $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties, a week-long workshop with top professionals of the genre as well as book signings, radio and TV interviews organized by the contest administrators to assist the winners in launching their careers.

For more information, on the Contests, go to where you can also see last year’s awards ceremony.

Please note, this is a live broadcast, so check your time zone for when it will show in your location.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Goodwin
Follow us on
Visit website