Author From International Writers of the Future Contest Takes Home The Edgar Award for Best YA Mystery/Thriller for 2013

Share Article

L. Ron Hubbard's contest winner from 1993, Elizabeth Wein wins 5th Award for her New York Times bestseller "Code Name Verity".

The 2013 Edgar Award winners were announced last week and it is no surprise that among the winners was a 1993 winner of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future contest, Elizabeth E. Wein. The Edgar is the top Award bestowed by the Mystery Writers of America organization and in the book categories they honor, best novel, first novel, paperback original, fact/crime, critical/biography, short story, juvenile and young adult. Elizabeth Wein's novel "Code Name Verity" won the award for Best Young Adult novel." The book also landed on the New York Times bestseller list on December 30, 2012 in the Young Adult category and the book has won the Printz Honor Book by the American Library Association.

When Elizabeth was first published in L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume IX in 1993 she stated, "I intend to continue writing for young people....I hope to establish in a new generation the same courage and confidence which my mother instilled in me."

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future contest, started in 1984 by international bestselling author L. Ron Hubbard. The contest is now in its 30th year enjoys amazing success with thousands of entrants yearly from all parts of the world, and has to date launched the careers of 12 New York Times bestselling authors.

To learn more, including details on how to enter the contests, visit the website at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Follow us on
Visit website