2nd Quarter Finalists Announced in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest

Share Article

All American Contestants in the Second Round of the 30th Year

In what is known as the largest contest of its kind in the world, finalists for the 2nd Quarter of the 30th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, specializing in fantasy and science fiction, were announced today by Joni Labaqui, contest Director.

The finalists are from Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington.


Liz Colter of Colorado
Randy Henderson of Washington (state)
Kathleen Miller of Pennsylvania
Art Schwartz of New Jersey
Barry Sykes of Missouri
Stephan (Steph) Train of Colorado
Katherine Warker of Virginia
Michael Winegar of Georgia

The eight finalists stories are sent to four of the contest judges. Of those eight stories, three winners will be chosen from that quarter as winners. There is a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winner every quarter. They are awarded cash prizes, a week-long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future.

A Grand Prize winner is also announced at the annual awards ceremony, is awarded an additional $5,000.00 and is selected from a separate panel of judges.

“The Writers of the Future Contest is the most effective means for aspiring writers to make their break in the publishing industry,” Labaqui said. “That’s because our winners are judged by professional writers from a pool of thousands of entries worldwide.” Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Dave Wolverton, and Sean Williams, to name a few.

For more information about the contest, go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com. Or call the contest at 323-466-3310.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Follow us on
Visit website