Science Fiction/Fantasy Author, Nnedi Okorafor, Named as a Judge for The Writers of the Future Contest

Share Article

Worldwide Writers Contest That Launches Careers of New Speculative Fiction Authors Brings Her Special Voice to the Judging Table

World Fantasy Award winning author of "Who Fears Death", Nnedi Okorafor has been named as a judge in the highly acclaimed L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, it was announced by Author Services, Inc., the literary agency and administrator of the contest. Nnedi brings a rich and diverse career with her to the judging ranks including the Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa for her story "Zahrah the Windseeker". She has been nominated for dozens of awards internationally. She holds a Ph.D. in English for the University of Illinois, Chicago and is a professor of creative writing at Chicago State University.

Now in its 29th year, the Writers of the Future Contest awards annual cash prizes totaling $30,000 for writers and illustrators of never-before-published works of science fiction and fantasy. It includes annual publication of the year’s winning stories and illustrations in the anthology titled L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. (Galaxy Press). The contest helped to launch her career by publishing her story "Windseekers" in "Writers of the Future Volume XVIII" back in 2002.

Nnedi will judge one set of the quarterly finalists every year and will also judge for the grand prize story each year.

She is warmly welcomed into the ranks of current contest judges for Writers of the Future that include other notable authors such as Tim Powers, Robert Silverberg, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Mike Resnick, Orson Scott Card, Kevin J. Anderson, Sean Williams, Gregory Benford and Robert J. Sawyer to name a few. Past judges who are no longer with us include Anne McCaffrey, Theodore Sturgeon, Jack Williamson, C.L. Moore, Roger Zelazny, Frank Herbert and Hal Clement.

About The Writers of the Future

The Writers of the Future Contest was established by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to discover and provide talented new and aspiring writers and illustrators of science fiction and fantasy a chance to have their work seen and acknowledged.

For more information about the Contest, go to

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website