There's no question about it; educated boaters are safer boaters
Salem, OR (Vocus) May 26, 2010
The Oregon State Marine Board has been phasing in mandatory boating safety education for the majority of boat operators over the past 7 years. As of 2010, Oregon resident boaters, 12 years of age and above, who operate any powerboat 10hp and greater must carry the Oregon Boater Education Card while on the water.
It is believed that this boating safety legislation has helped reduce the number of boating accidents and boating related fatalities. "There’s no question about it; educated boaters are safer boaters" says Kerry Moher, V.P. of Business Development with BoaterExam.com. "Our online course has been an extremely popular option for certification in recent years." The online boating course is recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and the Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB).
The BoaterExam Oregon Boating Safety Study Guide is fully narrated, contains interactive flash-based exercises, over 150 animated videos and visuals in every boater safety exam question. "Our students love that they can sit back and learn about safe boating in an interactive environment," says Moher, "the course engages students of all ages and learning styles."
The resulting Boater Education Card is NOT an ‘Oregon Boating License’. Unlike a driver’s license, the Oregon Boater Education Card is good for life and does not need to be renewed. After passing the online safe boating course, a one-time payment of $29.95 is made to BoaterExam for the course and students may purchase the permanent boater education card for an additional $10 fee. A temporary certificate can be printed immediately and the permanent card arrives by mail in 2-3 weeks.