American Statistical Association Names 57 Fellows for 2009

Fifty-seven members of the American Statistical Association (ASA) have been elected as Fellows of the association. The recipients were recognized for their outstanding professional contributions to and leadership in the field of statistical science. The Fellows will receive their certificates at a ceremony on Tuesday, August 4, 2009, at the annual Joint Statistical Meetings in Washington, DC. A list of fellows by state follows the release.

  • Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail a friend

Alexandria VA (PRWEB) June 4, 2009

Fifty-seven members of the American Statistical Association (ASA), the nation's preeminent professional statistical society, have been elected as Fellows of the association, ASA announced today. The recipients were recognized for their outstanding professional contributions to and leadership in the field of statistical science. The Fellows will receive their certificates at a ceremony on Tuesday, August 4, 2009, at the annual Joint Statistical Meetings in Washington, DC.

"The ASA Fellows, from academia, government and industry, are outstanding individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to our profession in a variety of areas," said Sally Morton, ASA president. "Their many achievements enhance our profession and we are proud and pleased to recognize them as Fellows.

The 2009 Fellows come from 19 states, the District of Columbia, Canada, England, Denmark, New Zealand, India, and China. A list of the 2009 Fellows by state follows this release.

The designation of Fellow has been a superlative honor in ASA for more than 90 years. According to the association by-laws, each year the Committee on Fellows can elect no more than one-third of one percent of the total ASA membership as Fellows. Individuals are nominated for the honor by fellow members and must have an established reputation and made outstanding contributions in some aspect of statistical work to be selected.

The Committee on Fellows evaluates candidates' contributions to the advancements of statistics, giving due weight to publications, the positions held by the candidates in the organizations in which they are employed, activities within the association, membership and attainments in other societies, and other professional activities.

About the American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association (ASA), a scientific and educational society founded in Boston in 1839, is the second oldest continuously operating professional society in the United States. For 170 years, ASA has been providing its 18,000 members serving in academia, government, and industry and the public with up-to-date, useful information about statistics. The ASA has a proud tradition of service to statisticians, quantitative scientists, and users of statistics across a wealth of academic areas and applications. For additional information about the American Statistical Association, please visit the association's web site at or call 703.684.1221.

For more information:
Rosanne Desmone
703.302.1861 (direct)
703.946.3820 (mobile)
Rosanne (at)

2009 American Statistical Association Fellows

Janna Lynn Asher, self-employed, Takoma Park, MD
William P. Butz, Population Reference Bureau, Washington, DC
Limin X. Clegg, US Department of Veterans Affairs, Washington, DC
Stephen H. Cohen, National Science Foundation, Division of Science Resources Statistics, Arlington, VA
Julia I. Lane, National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA
Gary Shapiro, Westat, Rockville

Edward E. Gbur Jr., University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Ronald D. Fricker Jr., Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey
John E. Kimmel, Springer Science + Business Media LLC, Dana Point
Herbert K.H. Lee, University of California, Santa Cruz
Dwayne L. Steffey, Exponent Inc., Menlo Park
Daniel O. Stram, University of Southern California, Los Angeles

T. N. Sriram, University of Georgia, Athens

Theodore G. Karrison, University of Chicago, Chicago
Domenic J. Reda, Hines Cooperative Studies Program Coordinating Center, Hines

Alex Dmitrienko, Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis

Song Xi Chen, Iowa State University, Ames
Jian Huang, University of Iowa, Iowa City

Rafael A. Irizarry, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore
Daniel O. Scharfstein, John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore

Mark Chang, AMAG Pharmaceuticals Inc., Lexington
Robert J. Gray, Harvard School of Public Health and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston
Gary King, Harvard, Cambridge

Peihua Qiu, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Daniel J. Shaid, Mayo Clinic, Rochester

Robert J. Boik, Montana State University, Bozeman

Mohammad Ahsanullah, Rider University, Lawrenceville
Stan Altan, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development, LLD, Raritan
David A. James, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation, East Hanover
Mani Y. Lakshminarayanan, Merck & Co., Inc., Rahway
Christopher A. Sims, Princeton University, Princeton

John M. Abowd, Cornell University, Ithica, NY

Sujit Kumar Ghosh, North Carolina State University, Raleigh
William F. Hunt Jr., North Carolina State University, Raleigh
Randall D. Tobias, SAS Institute Inc., Cary
David M. Umbach, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, Research Triangle
Rick L. Williams, RTI International, Raleigh

John E. Orban, Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus

Naomi S. Altman, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Marshall Joffe, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia

William D. Dupont, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville

Nandini Kannan, University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio
Michael T. Longnecker, Texas A&M University, College Station

Feifang Hu, University of Virginia, Charlottesville

Sung K. Ahn, Washington State University, Pullman
Mark S. Handcock, University of Washington, Seattle

Syed Ejaz Ahmed, University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Keumhee Chough Carriere, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Jiahua Chen, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Ming-Yen Cheng, University College London, London, England
Philip Hougaard, H. Lundbeck A/S, Ottiliavej, Valby, Denmark
Ian T. Jolliffe, Universities of Exeter, Kent and Aberdeen, Gurnard, Cowes, Isle of Wright, U.K.
Thomas C.M. Lee, Chinese University of Hong Kong and Colorado State University, Shatin, Hong Kong
Ashis SenGupta, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, West Bengal India
Daniel A. Sorenson, University of Aarhus, Tjele, Denmark
Christopher J. Wild, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Qiwei Yao, London School of Economics and Political Science, London, England