Sloan Consortium Announces Inaugural Class of Sloan-C Fellows

Share Article

Sixteen Sloan-C members recognized for exceptional contributions to the field of online learning.

The members of the inaugural class of Sloan-C Fellows have contributed to advancing quality, scale and breadth in online and blended education...

The Sloan Consortium announces its inaugural class of Sloan-C Fellows. Recognizing unusual professional distinction, the Sloan-C Board of Directors confers the distinction upon individual members of the Sloan Consortium who have:

  • outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning;
  • significant experience in online learning or an allied field;
  • a record of distinguished service to Sloan-C or the field; and
  • extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning.

The members of the inaugural class of Fellows have contributed to advancing quality, scale and breadth in online and blended education in areas represented by the Sloan-C Pillars of learning effectiveness, access, faculty and student satisfaction and scale. Fellows will be recognized during a banquet on Nov. 3 at the 16th Annual Sloan-C International Conference on Online Learning in Orlando, Florida.

The 2010 Sloan-C Fellows are:

  • Meg Benke, Vice Provost for Global and Online Learning, Empire State College, SUNY, for innovative and inspirational work in the creation, design, and evaluation of online student services and for sustained advocacy for online learning on a national scale.
  • John R. Bourne, Executive Director, Sloan Consortium, Professor Emeritus, F.W. Olin College of Engineering, and Professor Emeritus, Babson College, for exceptional service as the founding Executive Director of the Sloan Consortium and the founding Editor of the Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks.
  • Bruce N. Chaloux, Director of the Electronic Campus of the Southern Regional Education Board and President, Sloan Consortium, for his leadership of Sloan-C as it transitioned to a self-sustaining professional society and for his contributions to national projects that demonstrated the power of online learning.
  • Charles D. Dziuban, Director of the Research Initiative for Teaching Effectiveness at the University of Central Florida, for developing new and more effective data analysis models that provide information about technology’s impact on the online, blended and Web 2.0 learning environments.
  • D. Randy Garrison, Director of the Teaching & Learning Centre and Professor in the Faculty of Education at the University of Calgary, for advocacy of collaborative and engaged learning and for advancing our understanding of online and blended learning.
  • Ralph E. Gomory, President Emeritus, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, for remarkable vision and leadership in recognizing the importance of online education and for making online education a recognized part of American higher education through targeted philanthropy on a national scale.
  • Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Distinguished Professor Emerita, Department of Information Systems, College of Computing Sciences, New Jersey Institute of Technology, for conceiving the idea of Virtual Classrooms and for scholarship related to the design, implementation, and verification of effective online education over multiple decades.
  • Frank Mayadas, Senior Advisor, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, for outstanding vision and sustained leadership in transforming higher education through support of exemplary approaches to online education, and for creating the Sloan Consortium.
  • Gary E. Miller, Executive Director Emeritus, Penn State World Campus, Pennsylvania State University, in recognition of a forty-year career devoted to using online learning and electronic media to increase access to education at all levels nationally and internationally.
  • Jacqueline F. Moloney, Executive Vice Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Lowell, for her role as a national leader in championing the application of the Sloan-C pillars in building online programs that provide quality access for students and while advancing strategic institutional goals.
  • Burks Oakley II, Professor Emeritus, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Adjunct Professor, University of Illinois at Springfield, for innovative and inspirational work in the conceptualization, implementation, and advocacy of online learning in higher education on a national scale.
  • Anthony G. Picciano, Professor and Executive Officer, PhD Program in Urban Education, Graduate Center - City University of New York, for outstanding publications that have advanced the field of online learning and for his tireless contributions to the conference activities of Sloan-C.
  • Janet K. Poley, CEO and President of the American Distance Education Consortium (ADEC), in recognition of a distinguished career devoted to expanding distance education and to improving technology access, and for exceptional service to Sloan-C.
  • Ray E. Schroeder, Director, Center for Online Learning, Research, and Service (COLRS) and Professor Emeritus of Communication, University of Illinois at Springfield, for increasing access to higher education by cultivating a breadth of online degree programs and for chronicling the progress of the theory and practice of online education through new media.
  • Karen P. Swan, Stukel Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership, College of Education and Human Services, University of Illinois at Springfield, for rigorous research that has advanced our understanding of learning effectiveness in online and blended education.
  • Calvin H. Sydnor, III, Editor, The Christian Recorder and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Ethics and Religion, Hampton University, for sustained advocacy of online learning and its implementation within the HBCU community and for exemplary service to Sloan-C.

Information about the Sloan-C Fellows Program is available at

Information about the 16th Annual Sloan-C International Conference on Online Learning is available at

About Sloan-C
The Sloan Consortium is an institutional and professional leadership organization dedicated to integrating online education into the mainstream of higher education, helping institutions and individual educators improve the quality, scale, and breadth of education. For more information, visit

# # #

Share article on socal media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Eileen Pacheco
Media Contact
(508) 888-7478
Email >

Burks Oakley II
Email >
Visit website