AAPS Makes Final Call for Health Policy Leadership Award Nominations

Share Article

AAPS award will recognize an individual whose dedication to health policy has improved the health of Americans.

News Image

The American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc.® (AAPS) has announced a final call for nominations of candidates for the first annual Louis W. Sullivan, MD, Health Policy Leadership Award. The award is named in honor of Louis W. Sullivan, MD, former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (1989-93) (under President George H. W. Bush) and founder of the prestigious Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, GA.

Candidates for the Sullivan Award will have made, or be making, a truly outstanding contribution through an initiative to improve the health status of individuals, targeted groups, communities or the nation. The individual may have a primary role either inside or outside the public health arena.

Award criteria and nomination form is available at http://www.aapsus.org/sullivanaward. The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2012. The initial Sullivan Award will be presented June 26 in Los Angeles at the 60th AAPS House of Delegates & Annual Scientific Meeting.

Dr. Sullivan is currently a public member of the AAPS Board of Directors and is chairman of the board of the National Health Museum in Atlanta.

The American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc. is the governing body of the American Board of Physician Specialties® which certifies qualified allopathic and osteopathic physicians in 17 different medical specialties.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

James Marzano, ABC
Visit website