Virginia Boating Safety Education Certificate Required This Year - Boating Safety Course Available Online at BoaterExam.com

Share Article

Virginia is phasing in mandatory boater safety education for everyone until the year 2016. The BoaterExam Virginia Boating Safety Course meets the state's safe boating requirements and allows boaters to get certified online. Boating safety legislation is expected to reduce the number of boating-related fatalities.

Boating Safety Course Online

There's no question about it; educated boaters are safer boaters

In 2007 the Virginia Department of Game & Inland Fisheries (DGIF) passed a law that will require all boaters in the state to obtain a boating safety education certificate by July 1, 2016. Every boating season, a new age and operator group is required by law to have a certificate in order to operate on state waters. This year, all Personal Watercraft Operators aged 35 and younger must have a boating safety education certificate to operate on state waters. Boaters can quickly get a boat safety certification online by using the BoaterExam Virginia Boating Safety Course and Exam.

It is believed that this boating safety legislation has helped reduce the number of boating accidents and boating related fatalities. "There’s no question about it; educated boaters are safer boaters" says Kerry Moher, V.P. of Business Development with BoaterExam.com. "Our online course has been an extremely popular option for certification in recent years." The online boating course is recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and the Virginia Department of Game & Inland Fisheries.

In an attempt to target all learning styles, the Virginia Online Boating Safety Study Guide is fully narrated, contains interactive flash-based exercises, over 150 animated videos and visuals in every test question. "Our students love that they can sit back and learn about safe boating in an interactive environment," says Moher, "the course engages students of all ages and learning styles. Visual learners, in particular, can't imagine doing without our visual exam questions."

The resulting Boating Safety Education Certificate is NOT a 'Virginia Boating License". Unlike a driver’s license, the Virginia Boating Safety Education Certificate is good for life and does not need to be renewed. After passing the online safe boating course, a one-time payment of $29.95 is made to BoaterExam for the course and permanent wallet-sized card. A temporary certificate can be printed immediately and the permanent card arrives by mail in 2-3 weeks.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kerry Moher

Mireille Pitre
Visit website