The Writers of the Future Contest Called the "American Idol for Writers and Illustrators"

Share Article

The Writers of the Future Contest announces a call for entries, the current quarter ends 30 June.

News Image
You could call the Writers of the Future Contest ‘The American Idol for Writers’ -- long before there ever was an American Idol

In what’s been dubbed as a finalist-friendly version of “American Idol” for fledgling writers and illustrators of speculative fiction, winners for the 29th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests were announced today by Joni Labaqui, the contest Director.

This year’s entrants will come from around the globe including Australia and South Africa, China, England, Europe and the United States.

“You could call the Writers of the Future Contest ‘The American Idol for Writers’ -- long before there ever was an American Idol,” said New York Times best-selling author and Contest judge Kevin J. Anderson (Dune prequels, Star Wars, X-Files). “It’s amazing to me that a good 60 to 70 percent of the winners go on with successful careers in writing, and several have become best-selling authors themselves.”

Each year the contest awards all winners with cash prizes, free travel and accommodations, week-long professional workshop, and guaranteed publication in their best-selling annual speculative fiction anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers and Illustrators of the Future. Grand prize winners for writing and illustration will be announced at the annual awards ceremony to be held in April.

Throughout the Contest’s 29-year history, 348 writers and 276 illustrators have been recognized as winners, according to Labaqui. They’ve gone on to publish over 700 novels and 3,500 short stories as well as hundreds of thousands of published illustrations and sfx art for 31 major motion pictures. Former Writers of the Future Contest winners listed on the New York Times best-seller’s list include Jo Beverley, Nancy Farmer, Karen Joy Fowler, Sean Williams, Dave Wolverton, Patrick Rothfuss, Lisa Smedman and Tim Myers.

“The Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests are the most effective means for aspiring writers and artists to make their break in the publishing industry, an industry well-known for being closed to the newcomer,” Labaqui said. “That’s because our winners are judged by professional writers and illustrators from a pool of thousands of entries worldwide.” Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, and equally famous illustrator judges such as Cliff Nielsen, Bob Eggleton, Sergey Poyarkov, Stephen Hickman, Stephan Martiniere and Stephen Youll.

About The Writers Of The Future

Inspired by best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard, the merit-based Writers of the Future Contest was initiated 29 years ago to discover and encourage talented beginning writers of science fiction and fantasy.

For more information about the contest, please visit the website at .

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website