NAWIC Invites Nominations for Its 12TH Annual CRYSTAL VISION AWARDS Program

Share Article

NAWIC’s Crystal Vision Awards recognize two outstanding individuals for their contributions to the construction industry. Celebrating the achievements of individuals with vision who helped to promote, expand and encourage the role of women in the construction industry.

The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) is accepting nominations for its 12th annual Crystal Vision and Crystal Achievement Awards. The Crystal Vision Awards Program recognizes individuals for their outstanding achievements in advancing the role of women in the construction industry. Winners will be recognized at the Association’s 51st Annual Meeting and Convention, Sept. 6-9, 2006, in Kansas City, Mo. The Crystal Vision Award recognizes a nonmember of NAWIC, and the Crystal Achievement Award recognizes a member of the Association.

“This award identifies and honors the men and women who see beyond the invisible barriers that impede the progress of women, especially in nontraditional fields,” says Susan Levy, founder of the Crystal Vision Award and past NAWIC national president. “Nominees must demonstrate the courage to act on their vision by gradually breaking down those barriers through policy change, setting precedent and taking risks.”

Nominees for the Crystal Vision Awards may represent any of the various construction fields and include contractors, architects, engineers, suppliers, labor organizers, and trade association and government personnel. NAWIC invites nominees from all employment levels, including owners, executives, managers and agency chiefs. The NAWIC Office must receive completed nomination applications on or before Feb. 28, 2006.

All nominees must meet at least three or more of the following criteria:

1. Be in a position of authority to influence and/or make decisions beneficial to women in

the construction industry.

2. Empower women in construction through company policy, legislation or organizational structure.

3. Actively promote the inclusion and/or advancement of women in construction.

4. Demonstrate leadership on behalf of women in construction.

5. Break barriers with a “first” for women in construction.

6. Act as a role model and/or mentor for women.

A panel of industry experts will select winners based on the awards criteria. They are: Ellyn Lester, owner of Building Associations; Faye Turner, founder and executive director of Women Helping Women and past Crystal Vision Award recipient; and Ronald D. Worth, FSMPS, CPC, chief

executive officer, Society for Marketing Professional Services.

Award winners receive a complimentary trip to Kansas City, Mo., to accept their awards during the Crystal Vision Awards Gala held in their honor. Video portraits will also highlight the achievements of the two winners and their contributions to enhance the success of women in the construction industry.

An online information guide and application is available at


Industry Awards. Completed applications should be mailed to: NAWIC, Attn: Crystal Vision Awards,

327 S. Adams St., Fort Worth, Texas 76104-1002.

Companies and organizations can support the importance of recognizing excellence in the construction industry by sponsoring the 2006 Crystal Vision Awards Program. To learn more about becoming a sponsor, please contact the NAWIC Office for more details. Sponsorship levels range from $1,000 to $5,000.

Founded in Fort Worth, Texas, in 1955, NAWIC is an international Association serving approximately 5,500 members in 179 chapters across the United States. NAWIC also has international affiliates in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom. For more information, please contact Communications Director Kara Roberson at (817) 877-5551.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print