Publishers of Mystery Scene Magazine Receive Ellery Queen Award

Share Article

Kate Stine & Brian Skupin honored for contributions to mystery publishing. Mystery Writers of America gives award at 60th Annual Edgars Banquet.

When the husband-and-wife team of Brian Skupin and Kate Stine receive the Ellery Queen Award on April 27, it will be the culmination of years of personal and professional involvement in the mystery world. In fact, the two first met in 1996 at Magna Cum Murder, a convention sponsored by Ball State University.

“Thrillers, romantic suspense, noir, espionage or cozy—Mystery Scene covers it all,” said Ms. Stine. “Our writers are some of the most respected critics in the business and they’re definitely some of the most entertaining. We take our fun seriously! To have this honor from the Mystery Writers of America makes us all very happy.”

Mystery Scene Magazine (est. 1985) offers lively, expert coverage of the entire mystery world. In addition to articles, author profiles, and opinion pieces, the magazine offers an extensive array of audio, film, theater, TV and book reviews.

Stine and Skupin acquired the magazine in 2002, quickly undertaking a complete redesign and bringing onboard a number of well-known critics and writers. In 2004, Mystery Scene won the Anthony Award for Best Mystery Magazine.

Ms. Stine, who also edits Mystery Scene, has many years of publishing experience including stints at The Mysterious Press, Otto Penzler Books and The Mary Higgins Clark Mystery Magazine. She edited the award-winning Armchair Detective Magazine, from 1992 to 1997.

Mr. Skupin, who writes a popular column for Mystery Scene, has helped organize the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention and the Annual Gathering of the Agatha Christie Society, among other events. He also runs the magazine’s extensive website,

Ms. Stine was raised in Trafalgar, Indiana, and graduated from Indiana University and New York University’s Publishing Institute. Mr. Skupin is originally from Oakville, Canada, and is a graduate of University of Waterloo.

The Ellery Queen Award will be presented at the 60th Annual Edgars Banquet, April 27, 2006, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. The Mystery Writers of America is the preeminent organization devoted to the crime genre. For more information on the MWA, visit

For more information:

Kate Stine, editor-in-chief & co-publisher

Mystery Scene Magazine

331 W. 57th Street, Suite 148

New York, NY 10019-3101
Tel: 212-765-7124

Fax: 212-765-1381

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kate Stine
Visit website