Grape Radio, Leo Laporte to be Honored at The Podcast and Portable Media Expo in Ontario, California

Share Article

Top-rated wine industry podcast named "Podcast of the Year;" creator and host of This Week in Tech named "Person of the Year in Podcasting."

News Image
The magic of podcasting is that it gives everyone a chance to be heard. It's not about any one person, or any dozen podcasts, it's about the birth of a new medium that gives us all a voice.

Podcast & Portable Media Expo today announced that Grape Radio and Leo Laporte are the 2006 recipients of the conference's "Podcast of the Year" and "Person of the Year in Podcasting" awards, respectively.

Both awards are voted on by a five-person committee, which is comprised of active podcasters and those who work in online media. Winners will be recognized at a special reception on Friday, September 29, 2006 at 5 p.m. at the Ontario Marriott.

Podcast of the Year (, launched in January 2005, is a show aimed at providing wine enthusiasts with the latest interviews, wine news, and industry trends.

"We're truly honored to receive this award," said Jay Selman, co-host and producer of Grape Radio. "The entire team has worked hard to create a quality podcast. has given us the opportunity to explore a deep passion of ours."

The Grape Radio staff also includes Brian Clark, Co-Host; Eric Anderson, Co-Host/Editor; and Michael Geoghegan, creator. The 2005 "Podcast of the Year" recipient was Eat Feed.

Person of the Year in Podcasting

Leo Laporte hosts and produces several podcasts, including This Week in Tech (TWiT), Security Now!, Inside the Net, The Daily Giz Wiz, and FLOSS Weekly. Leo is "The Tech Guy" on radio station KFI AM 640 in Los Angeles and is also the host of Call for Help, a daily hour-long television show that airs in Canada and Australia.

"I am thrilled to be recognized as the person of the year in podcasting," Laporte said. "The magic of podcasting is that it gives everyone a chance to be heard. It's not about any one person, or any dozen podcasts, it's about the birth of a new medium that gives us all a voice."

Laporte will also deliver one of the keynote addresses at the Podcast & Portable Media Expo on Friday, September 29 at 9 a.m. in Ballroom C of the Ontario Convention Center.

The 2005 "Person of the Year" recipient was Doug Kaye of the IT Conversations Network (now part of GigaVox Media).

Award Criteria

The "Podcast of the Year" award is given to an individual or team producing a regular podcast in the previous six months. The committee considers the quality of the content, look and feel of the accompanying website, and how well the podcast delivers content to its listener base. Audience size or popularity rankings are not taken into account.

The "Person of the Year in Podcasting" award recognizes an individual who's had a positive influence on the growth and popularity of podcasting in the previous 12 months.

Winners receive $1,000 cash, a Marantz PMD670 portable digital recorder courtesy of Marantz Professional, and 5 Pro earphones courtesy of Ultimate Ears.

The Podcast & Portable Media Expo will take place Sept. 29-30 at the Ontario Convention center. For registration, exhibitor, and travel information, visit the Podcast & Portable Media Expo website: Podcast and Portable Media Expo.

About Podcast & Portable Media Expo:

Podcast & Portable Media Expo is a one-of-a-kind conference produced by show organizer and online media developer TNC New Media, Inc. TNC New Media produces unique niche events and online media in several industries including,, and The Forex Trading Expo. Podcast & Portable Media Expo was named Expo Magazine's Best New Show winner 2006.


Tim Bourquin

Founder/CEO, TNC New Media, Inc.

(949) 348-2590 ext. 15


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Tim Bourquin
Visit website