Burma Global Action Network Announces Worldwide Protest of Chevron

Share Article

The Burma Global Action Network will be holding a Chevron Protest through faxes and phone calls on Friday, November 2nd, during Chevron's quarterly earnings update at 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST).

The Burma Global Action Network will be holding a Chevron Protest through faxes and phone calls on Friday, November 2nd, during Chevron's quarterly earnings update at 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST).

Chevron Corp. holds a 28.3% share in the Yadana natural gas project. According to the Burma Global Action Network, Chevron pays large sums in gas royalties to the current military junta. Protesters are demanding that the corporation place these royalties in escrow for the legitimate elected government of Burma, headed by Aung San Suu Kyi. These funds are allegedly being pocketed by the military leaders.

In addition to the escrow, protesters will also be asking Chevron to increase contributions to humanitarian efforts in Burma through accredited non-government organizations.

Calls and faxes to the California Headquarters office will be placed from 11 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time; 8:00 am to 10:00 am Pacific Standard Time.

A complete list of Chevron Offices can be found on an active Burma blogger site: Chevron Worldwide Offices.

Callers are being advised to ask for David O'Reilly, the CEO, to register your concern and protest Chevron's activity in Burma and ask that they put the royalty money in escrow for the elected government of Burma or sell their stake in the Yadana project.

Headquarters:
1.Chevron Corp.
6001 Bollinger Canyon Road
San Ramon, CA 94583
United States
Phone: 1-925-842-1000
Fax: 1-415-894-6817

The Burma Global Action Network urges callers to ask for David O'Reilly, CEO.

Contact:
Matt Fidanque
541-554-9118

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Matt Fidanque
Visit website