Annual Energy Conference to Host Award Presentations and Forum

Share Article

The Energy Advocates will honor Award Winners at the 16th Annual IECP Energy Policy Conference in Washington, D.C.

The Energy Advocates have announced the following recipients of the 2008 Energy Advocate of the Year Awards which will be presented September 14th at the University Club, Washington, D.C.: U. S. Congressman John E. Peterson of Pennsylvania, Individual, Texas Alliance of Energy Producers, Association, Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association, Association, The Wall Street Journal, Media, Ward Petroleum Corporation, Corporate, and George H. "Bud" Lawrence, Lifetime Achievement.

U. S. Congresswoman Mary Fallin will serve as the Keynote Speaker of the Awards Dinner. Her topic is "ANWR and America's Energy Future". She recently returned with a congressional delegation from a visit to the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.

The following day, Monday, September 15th, there will be an energy forum held at The University Club. Speakers include- representatives from American Public Gas Association, Independent Petroleum Association of America, BKSH & Associates, Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism, WADE, and American Gas Association.

"America and World are facing extreme challenges ahead in regard to energy. This conference continues to address many of the energy issues and realities. Failure to effectively deal with the problems now will threaten our nation's economic prosperity, compromise our national security, and could radically alter our way of life", Mark A. Stansberry, chairman of the conference states.

Visit the official conference website at for more information. You can RSVP for the conference either at the website of by email at info @ or by calling 202-580-6532.

About The Energy Advocates: Since 1974, The Energy Advocates, a national organization, has provided energy education nationally. The Energy Advocates strongly support all forms of energy. Its primary mission is to inform the general public about our vital energy industry and energy policy issues. To learn more about energy issues, and The Energy Advocates, visit

About IEPC: The conference was founded in 1992. The first conference was held at the University of Oklahoma. Mark A. Stansberry is the founder and founding company, The Oklahoma Royalty Company.

The conference has been hosted by The Oklahoma Royalty Company, The Energy Advocates, The State Chamber, The U.S.Department of Energy, Sarkey's Energy Center/University of Oklahoma, People to People International, The American Gas Association, and the Oklahoma Marginal Well Commission.

Past Honorary Chairs: Governor Frank Keating, Lt. Governor Mary Fallin , U. S. Senator Don Nickles , U. S. Congressman Watkins, Oklahoma Corporation Commissioner Denise Bode, Tulsa Mayor Bill LaFortune, James A. Beck , Ambassador Robert Jordan and Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick.

The 2003 conference was held in Washington, D. C., the 2004 was held in Tulsa, OK, the 2005 conference was held in Denver, CO., the 2006 conference was held in Dallas, TX. The 2007 conference was the Oklahoma Centennial Salute to Energy with four events held in Tulsa and Oklahoma City.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author


Mark Stansberry
Visit website