IES Abroad Recognizes Study Abroad Professionals and Institutions at 2010 Annual Conference in Chicago

Share Article

IES Abroad Honors 12 Original Academic Consortium Members at 60th Anniversary Celebration

At its 2010 Annual Conference and 60th Anniversary Celebration, IES Abroad presented three leadership awards to study abroad professionals and recognized 12 original members of its academic consortium.

The IES Abroad Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Dr. Ana Maria Wiseman, Dean of International Programs and Associate Professor of Foreign Languages at Wofford College. Dr. Wiseman is a national leader in the field of education abroad serving as a professional and volunteer. For IES Abroad, she served as the chair of the General Conference 2007-2009 and as a member of its Board of Directors. She also served on the IES Abroad Curriculum Committee and Academic Council.

The IES Abroad Professional Development Award was given to Sheila Collins, director of programming for the Learning Abroad Center at the University of Minnesota. Collins has made significant contributions to the study abroad field as an educator and as a member of The Forum on Education Abroad and a former board member for the Higher Education Consortium for Urban Affairs (HECUA). She has also served on the IES Abroad Academic Council.

The IES Abroad Volunteer of the Year Award was given to Dr. Dennis Gordon, professor of political science and executive director emeritus of International Programs at Santa Clara University. Dr. Gordon has served on the Curriculum Committee and Academic Council for IES Abroad and has been a volunteer lecturer on study abroad programs. He also designed customized study abroad programs to make them accessible for students in need of financial aid. He serves on The Forum on Education Abroad’s Committee on Ethical Practices and has served on the Forum’s Council and Standards Committee.

Founded in 1950, IES Abroad began its formal Academic Consortium in 1963. To celebrate 60 years of offering study abroad programs to students from top-tier U.S. colleges and universities, IES Abroad recognized the 12 schools that are both inaugural and continuous members of its academic consortium. They are (with their original year of consortium membership noted):

IES Abroad Original Academic Consortium Member Schools
Santa Clara University (1963)
Hope College (1964)
University of the Pacific (1964)
The College of Wooster (1965)
Gustavus Adolphus College (1965)
Illinois Wesleyan University (1965)
Luther College (1965)
Millikin University (1965)
Morehouse College (1965)
Spelman College (1965)
Austin College (1967)
Dickinson University (1967)

Photo Caption for attached photo: IES Abroad honors original academic consortium members at a 60th anniversary celebration. Pictured are – Back Row Left to Right: Dennis Gordon, Santa Clara University; Ashlee Flinn, Austin College; Mary Dwyer, IES Abroad; Front Row Left to Right: Carmen Aravena, Millikin University; Margery Ganz, Spelman College; Amy Otis-de Grau, Hope College; Barbara Colyar, Santa Clara University; Stacey Shimizu, Illinois Wesleyan University; Kim Tunnicliff, The College of Wooster; Brian Brubaker, Dickinson University.

IES Abroad, which celebrates its 60th anniversary in 2010, is a global, not-for-profit academic consortium offering study abroad programs to more than 5,400 US college students each year who participate in 92 programs at 32 international locations. IES Abroad offers programs in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, New Zealand and South America.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carol Jambor-Smith
Visit website