International Legal Technology Standards Organization (ILTSO) Announces New 2011 Standards for Secure Technology for Lawyers

Share Article

The mission of the International Legal Technical Standards Organization is to develop and promote secure and ethically-conscious technology standards within the legal profession. Please visit us on the web at

The International Legal Technology Standards Organization (ILTSO) is pleased to announce the publication of its new 2011 Standards for public review and comment. This release coincides with the beginning of the American Bar Association's annual TechShow in Chicago on April 11, 2011.

ILTSO is a nonprofit organization consisting of experienced legal and technology industry professionals. We are dedicated to helping attorneys and clients better understand the practical and ethical implications of technology for the practice of law.

There are four “rings” to the ILTSO standards: My Local Networks, My Cloud Services, My Access Devices, and My Ethical Considerations. These areas are interdependent and equally critical to the formulation of the comprehensive ILTSO Standards. Each ring contains the relevant standards for various "levels" of compliance—gold, silver, or bronze—depending on the size and nature of the law firm.

The ILTSO Standards to do not contain legal advice, and are only designed to serve as a guide for the legal industry.

For more information and to read the standards, please visit us on the web at


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author


Email >
Visit website