The Curtain Rises on the Texas Music Hall of Fame

Share Article

Leroy Parnell, Kathy Valentine of the Go-Go’s, Marcia Ball and other artists attend kickoff party in Austin

The stars were out shining brightly before sundown supporting Texas music and the people who create it at the long awaited announcement of the Texas Music Hall of Fame.

“The time is now,” said Edward Z. Fair, Executive Director of The Texas Music Hall of Fame. “Texans have had a tremendous impact on the development of all styles of music in the United States and around the world.”

The curtain rose on The Texas Music Hall of Fame Wednesday, October 19 in Austin with a Kick-Off Party that included entertainment by the ZOTS of San Antonio. 13-year-old Jonathan Stone Morales and his 10-year-old brother Jude performed a set of Texas music classics along with some original material. Their father is Grammy winner Michael Morales.

Marcia Ball, Joe Ely, Kathy Valentine of the Go-Go’s, Ray Benson of Asleep at the Wheel, Jimmy LaFave, Joe King Carrasco, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Lee Roy Parnell, Monte Warden and Paul Wall, who is also President of the Texas Chapter National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences took a break from touring schedules to be on hand for the big announcement.

“People don’t say Texas oil, Texas football. Well maybe they do but then they say Texas music,” said Marcia Ball. “We need to bring that into sharp focus and honor the people who brought us here.”

Other artists showing support for the TMHOF included: Chris Taylor, Todd Potter and Dave Force of Bubble Puppy, Brian Hofeldt of the Derailers, Jack Ingram, Miles Zuniga of Fastball, Carrie Rodriguez, Cindy Cashdollar, Eliza Gilkyson, Shelley King, Reckless Kelly, Stefano Intelisano, Connie Hancock and Traci Lamar of the Texana Dames.

Also spotted in the crowd were Cody and Willy Braun of Reckless Kelly, Coleman Steagall, Denny Freeman, Van Wilks, Mike Shermer, Paul Beasley, Eric Johnson, Kevin Russell, Randy Rogers and Natalie Zoe.

The Texas Music Hall of Fame recognizes and honors performers, songwriters, producers and other music business professionals who have made a significant contribution to Texas music or otherwise created a music legacy and seeks to educate the public about the achievements of such individuals.

“The Texas Music Hall of Fame has assembled an incredible board with each member bringing his or her unique background and expertise to the table,” said Fair. “Of course the common thread among all of them is a love for Texas music.”

Board members include:

  •     Danny Eaton – Live Nation Entertainment
  •     Ed Fair – Music attorney
  •     Dr. Gary Hartman – Center for Texas Music History at Texas State University
  •     Terry Lickona – Executive Producer, Austin City Limits
  •     W. Mark Meyer – R.R. Advisors, LLC/RCH Energy Investment Funds
  •     Casey Monahan (ex-officio) –Texas Music Office, Governor’s Office
  •     Leslie Moore – Owner, Word of Mouth Catering, Co-owner Mercury Hall
  •     Steve Moore –CEO, Country Music Association
  •     Margaret Moser – Austin Chronicle’s Annual Austin Music Awards
  •     Donnie Nelson – President and General Manager Dallas Mavericks
  •     Rose Reyes – Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau
  •     Roy Spence – GSD&M
  •     Dan Workman – Sugar Hill Studios

Beginning in 2012, five members will be inducted into the Featured Performer Category of the Texas Music Hall of Fame and one member will be inducted into the Non-Performer Category. The members selected for induction each year will be announced in the second quarter of the year. A major induction event will be held in the fall of each year.

“Our selection process is similar to the processes used by the Country Music Hall of Fame and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame,” said Fair. “Given the depth of Texas music, we will never run short of worthy candidates.”

While the induction is the pinnacle of the Texas Music Hall of Fame, there are many other activities planned:

  •     Texas Music Hall of Fame Concert Series
  •     Talent N Texas: Regional performance competitions with celebrity judges. The statewide winner will perform at the next year’s induction ceremony.
  •     Educational programs and conferences, seminars, panels, etc. addressing different aspects of Texas music
  •     Student Essay Competitions: High school and college categories. Winners will receive scholarships and winning essays posted on website.

The kickoff announcement will include the unveiling of the Texas Music Hall of Fame website:

“The internet gives us the opportunity to reach people all over the world” “One of our initial key projects will be the creation of a “virtual” Texas Music Hall of Fame through our website,” said Fair.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Gina Galaviz

(210) 348-8008
Email >
Visit website