Youth Leadership Awardees Announced HOBY Honors Philanthropists, Young Alumni at Albert Schweitzer Leadership Awards Dinner

Share Article

Four influential philanthropists and four young leaders will receive the Hugh O’Brian Youth (HOBY) Leadership’s distinguished Albert Schweitzer Leadership Awards at the non-profit’s dinner on October 25, 2012 at the Beverly Hills Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA. Hosted by television and film star, Rainn Wilson, this annual event impacts over 10,000 youth who participate in vital leadership programs!

Founded in 1958, HOBY’s mission is to inspire and develop our global community of youth and volunteers to a life dedicated to leadership, service and innovation. HOBY programs provide youth with unique training, service learning and motivation building experiences. Over 4,000 committed volunteers plan and execute local and international program each year!

HOBY’s 2012 Awards & Recipients

Albert Schweitzer Leadership Award is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves through service to mankind and who have contributed significantly through their leadership to the education and motivation of youth.

Honoree Gary Kelly – Chairman of the Board / President and CEO, Southwest Airlines

Gary Kelly serves as the Chairman of the Board, President, and Chief Executive Officer at Southwest Airlines. A 24-year Southwest veteran who became CFO, Gary has received awards and recognitions, including being named one of Business Travel News' 25 Most Influential Executives of 2004; selected as Dallas Business Journal's CEO of the year for 2011; and most recently named to the President's Council on Jobs and Competitiveness.

Honoree T. Hale Boggs – Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

Hale Boggs is a partner with Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, chairs the firm’s nationwide Business Development Committee, and serves on the Compensation Committee and Executive Committee. Hale’s practice focuses on corporate and securities matters, including venture capital transactions, mergers and acquisitions, corporate reorganizations, public and private securities offerings, and joint ventures. Mr. Boggs also represents a wide variety of financial institutions and financial services companies, including commercial banks and bank holding companies, and consumer and commercial finance companies. Mr. Boggs is currently Chairman of the Board of BizWorld, a national non-profit that teaches entrepreneurship to elementary and middle-school students.

HOBY Leadership in Entertainment Award pays tribute to the artistic merits of production companies, outstanding motion pictures and television programs, and talented performers that have inspired and motivated others by the values they promote through the stories told and the characters portrayed.

Honoree Tena Clark – Founder and CEO / Chief Creative Officer, DMI Music and Media Solutions Tena Clark founded and serves as CEO of DMI Music & Media Solutions, programs music for Air Force One for the last four three Presidents and produced Aretha Franklin’s most recent album. Music has guided Tena from rural Mississippi to Hollywood where she has excelled in multiple genres across mediums including penning award-winning country hits, contributing to multi-platinum movie soundtracks, writing for television shows and creating the instantly recognizable national campaign theme, “Have You Had Your Break Today,” for McDonald’s. She is currently preparing her award winning musical Twist for its Broadway debut.

HOBY Inspiration Award honors individuals who have profoundly inspired others by their character, their values and their actions. Their achievements have equaled their ambitions, and they inspire us to do no less.
Honoree Carla Christofferson –– Co-Owner, LA Sparks / Managing Partner, O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Carla Christofferson is Managing Partner of O’Melveny’s Los Angeles office and a member of the Business Trial and Litigation Practice. Carla focuses on commercial civil litigation, including litigation involving energy, natural resources, environmental, unfair trade practices, accountant liability, and contract disputes. Carla is a recognized leader in the Los Angeles community, a frequent speaker on topics related to leadership and diversity, and is co-owner of the Los Angeles Sparks. She is currently Chairwoman of the Los Angeles Library Board and is involved with the Young Presidents’ Organization.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizes outstanding HOBY alumni who have distinguished themselves as a leader in professionals, social and philanthropic endeavors, and have carried that leadership with dignity and respect.

Honoree Marta Belcher

"I came to HOBY with drive and ambition, but I left with a vision and a purpose. Spending a few enlightening days among the leaders of today and tomorrow was, for me, not just an inspiration to work toward a better world -- it was an imperative." Marta is the executive director of No Worries Now, a nonprofit dedicated to immediately improving the lives of teens with life-threatening illnesses through proms and other programs. Marta graduated Cal Berkeley in 2012 and is attending Harvard Law School.

Honoree Abigail Wheeler

“HOBY gave me the confidence to be myself, the desire to continually learn in every situation, the inspiration to not just talk about making a difference but to actually do it, and the tools to be successful in this life." After Abby’s inspirational weekend at HOBY, she founded the Wasco Kids Club, a mentoring and community service program for elementary school children run by high school students one Saturday a month. With over 900 hours of service since 2009, Abby attends Azusa Pacific University and continues to be involved in leadership and service, including Wasco Kids Club and HOBY.

Honoree Joshua Ford

“HOBY has provided me with inspiration, lifelong friends, and hope for a better world; what better gifts could I ask for?” After taking a year to teach English and work in a school in Ecuador, Joshua attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as a Morehead-Cain Scholar graduating from the Honors Program in 2012. He received the scholarship due to his participation at HOBY’s WLC and has started three non-profits: Project H.E.L.P improves the quality of education in rural Ecuador; GoMeal! combats food waste in Chapel Hill, NC; and GenerAction inspires a culture of social awareness and responsibility.

Honoree Michael Young

“My HOBY experience has helped me significantly to develop my networking and leadership skills, motivated me to start a non-profit organization called The Swing Fore Kids Foundation, and inspired me to be a role model for others.” Michael is the Founder and Director of The Swing Fore Kids Golf Classic, a charity golf tournament that has raised over $300,000for The Animal Assisted Therapy Program at Phoenix Children’s Hospital. Michael was honored at the 2010 Major League Baseball All-Star Game as one of People Magazine and Major League Baseball’s All-Stars Among Us Winners.

About HOBY

HOBY teaches students – not what to think, but how to think – creatively, critically, and compassionately. An individual with opportunity and motivation is capable of accomplishing great things. We focus on individual growth in order for leadership to make a better world and a better society. Everyone at HOBY believes in the ability to be a leader and affect the future for all of us. We want students to stand out and be outstanding. HOBY is the open door to a life of leadership and service. For more information, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Javier La Fianza
Hugh O’Brian Youth (HOBY)
Email >