Jason Reeves to Release "Songs Are Silent Films," in Stores and Available Online June 12

Share Article

After Writing and Recording with the Likes of Superstar Colbie Caillat and American Idol Winner Kris Allen, Jason Reeves Set to Release Long-Awaited New Album

Jason Reeves "Songs Are Silent Films"

Critically acclaimed, multi-platinum singer-songwriter Jason Reeves has readied his forthcoming third full-length album, "Songs Are Silent Films" for release on June 12, 2012. The record will be available through the artist's own abeautifularmyoftrees label both digitally and physically.

Reeves, a prolific 27-year-old ASCAP award-winning writer from Iowa City, Iowa might be best known for the songs he’s written with and for other performers. From the 20+ songs he’s written with Colbie Caillat (including the #1 smash “Bubbly” and hit singles “Realize” and “I Never Told You”), to the work he’s done with American Idol alums Kara DioGuardi and Kris Allen (2010 winner), to Jason’s recent writing on the country scene; Jason has covered more ground in his short career than most do in a lifetime. A recent highlight was his song, “The Show,” written for the artist Lenka, which went to # 1 in multiple territories around the world, and was the key song in the Oscar-nominated Brad Pitt film, Moneyball.

Jason released his debut album, 2007’s The Magnificent Adventures of Heartache (and other Frightening Tales) to widespread critical acclaim, earning him the honors of “Top Indie Singer Songwriter” and “Top Folk Album” from iTunes. August 2011 saw the release of Jason’s follow up LP, The Lovesick, which featured “edgier” production combined with his unique blend of modern folk and pop sensibilities. This album debuted at No. 7 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Albums Chart and climbed to No. 5 on the iTunes Pop Chart.

With his newest solo release, Songs Are Silent Films, Jason returns to a stripped-down approach to his songwriting. Each song intertwines acoustic guitars with piano to create unforgettable melodies that form the album’s eleven tracks. “I wanted to go back to the basics,” affirms Reeves. “Each song becomes its own little movie that you can imagine seeing. There's not necessarily an overarching story per se, but all of these songs are written about falling in love.”

The first single from Songs Are Silent Films is the sun-soaked ballad, "More in Love with You". Written with frequent collaborator Danelle Leverett of the JaneDear Girls and featuring her alter ego Nelly Joy on vocals, the song echoes the best of classic Nashville finger-picked guitar with a modern touch of soulful harmonies and lyrics for which Jason has become known.

Other highlights include the heartfelt "You're My Best Friend" (just in time for wedding season), the stunningly gorgeous "I’ll Never Leave You Again” and, on the other end of the musical spectrum, “Song For Jack”, written as a tribute to one of Jason’s own biggest inspirations, Jack Kerouac.

Songs Are Silent Films will be available for purchase through all digital retailers, CD Baby, and Jason's official site (http://www.jasonreeves.com). For more about Jason Reeves please visit: http://www.facebook.com/jasonreevesmusic.

Songs Are Silent Films track listing:

  •     On Our Way
  •     Back With Me

•    I'll Never Leave You Again (CLICK TO LISTEN)

  •     More In Love With You [Featuring Nelly Joy]
  •     Like The Sun
  •     You're My Best Friend
  •     Nobody Else Could Be You
  •     Song For You
  •     Numbers & Time
  •     I Can't Imagine
  •     One Day

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Daniel Savage
Visit website