CFPA to Announce 2012 FCS Awards Winners on January 9, 2013

Share Article

College Football Performance Awards will announce its 2012 FCS Awards Winners on January 9, 2013.

College Football Performance Awards will announce its 2012 FCS Awards Winners on January 9, 2013. The 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year will receive a 22-inch K-9 optic crystal trophy with 8-inch K-9 optic crystal football.

Old Dominion quarterback Taylor Heinicke earned the 2011 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Current Miami Dolphins quarterback Pat Devlin earned the 2010 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Returning CFPA recipients for 2012 include: Elon wide receiver Aaron Mellette, North Dakota State defensive back Marcus Williams, Furman tight end Colin Anderson, and Portland State placekicker Zach Brown, among others.

"The night I won the award was very humbling and very exciting," said 2011 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy recipient Taylor Heinicke. "Since then, people have been treating me a lot more nicely around campus."

2012 CFPA FCS Awards Watch List:
The 2012 CFPA FCS Awards Watch List is a rough guide which highlights top returning performers. Since its release, Alabama State's Isaiah Crowell, Eastern Washington's Kyle Padron, Portland State's Marquis Jackson, and Tennessee Tech's Da'Rick Rogers have been added.

More than 121 FCS Awards Watch List members participated in preseason interviews. The interviews are available on the Official CFPA FCS Awards YouTube Channel.

"I'm excited for the 2012 season because I know that this is the top award that a player at my position can receive," noted UAPB defensive back Ryan Shaw. "I would like for people to associate my name with Patrick Peterson's name one day."

CFPA Recipients in the NFL:
Eighty-five CFPA recipients have signed with NFL teams. Nineteen CFPA recipients have been first-round selections in the NFL Draft. Additionally, the first specialist selected in the NFL Draft has been a CFPA recipient in each of the past four seasons. "The success of these players in the NFL speaks volumes about the criteria CFPA uses," stated Albany punter Paul Layton. "The CFPA Watch List is a very prestigious list, and every punter in the country wants to be on it."

CFPA FCS Awards Winners currently in the NFL include: Justin Bethel (Arizona Cardinals), Ronnie Cameron (Cleveland Browns), Ryan Davis (Jacksonville Jaguars), Pat Devlin (Miami Dolphins), Nate Eachus (Kansas City Chiefs), Kenrick Ellis (New York Jets), L.J. Fort (Cleveland Browns), Asa Jackson (Baltimore Ravens), Trumaine Johnson (St. Louis Rams), Taiwan Jones (Oakland Raiders), Korey Lindsey (Indianapolis Colts), Martin Parker (New York Giants), De'Andre Presley (San Diego Chargers), Brian Quick (St. Louis Rams), Laron Scott (New York Giants), Chris Summers (Chicago Bears), and Anthony Walters (Chicago Bears), among others.

About College Football Performance Awards:
College Football Performance Awards is the largest awards organization in D-I college football. All recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

"The CFPA awards will surely prove illuminating," writes Lawrence Krauss, Science Advisor to the 2008 Barack Obama Presidential Campaign.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Brad Smith
College Football Performance Awards
(570) 854-1252
Email >
Visit website