National Council for Research on Women: 2013 Making a Difference for Women Awards Dinner

Share Article

The National Council for Research on Women will celebrate four outstanding leaders at its annual Making a Difference for Women Awards Dinner at Cipriani Wall Street on March 5, 2013. Honorees will include Bob Moritz, Chairman and Senior Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Lisa Garcia Quiroz, Chief Diversity Officer and Senior Vice President at Time Warner Inc.; and Susan L. Wagner, Founding Partner and Vice Chair (ret.) at BlackRock.

The evening's Honoree Panel presentation will be moderated by Soledad O’Brien, CNN Anchor and Special Correspondent. Additional panelists include John G. Maxwell, Lead Director, US Board of Partners, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. NCRW will also pay a special tribute to Linda G. Basch, the Council’s President Emerita, for her indispensable 16 years of leadership at the National Council for Research on Women and her vital contributions to women’s research and advancement.

“We have an impressive group of Honorees this year: individuals who make a difference in the lives of women and girls. We also have an outstanding group of Trailblazers, women who are forward-thinking, courageous, and willing to take difficult, solitary steps toward improving the status of women and girls in our world,” said NCRW President Áine Duggan. “Our staff and board of directors would also like to give deep thanks to Linda Basch for her years of leadership and the lasting contributions she has made to the women’s space.”

In addition, NCRW will spotlight 24 inspirational Trailblazers who contribute to significant positive change in the lives of women and girls. These Trailblazers include Anne F. Ackerley, Managing Director, Chief Marketing Officer, BlackRock; Amanda Aizuss, Girls Learn International Student, United Nations CSW Delegation; Kathy B. Ashe, Community Leader; Ann Austin, Director, Center for Women and Gender at Utah State University, 2013 Winner of Emerging Center Award; Ronit Avni, Filmmaker; Founder and Executive Director of Just Vision; Amanda Bennett, Executive Editor/Projects and Investigations for Bloomberg News; Susan Blount, Senior Vice President & General Counsel of Prudential Financial; Liz Diep, Assurance Senior Manager, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Turea Erwin, Director for the Women’s Resource Center at Washington State University–Pullman; Caroline Feeney, CLU®, ChFC®, President, Agency Distribution, Prudential Financial; Sister Ann Ida Gannon, BVM, Newberry Trustee, former president of Mundelein College; Shelby Knox, Senior Campaigner; Sachi Achyut Kougli, Girls Learn International Student, United Nations CSW Delegation; Terri McClements, Vice Chair and US Human Capital Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Sharon Wright McMahon, Vice President, Human Resources, International Division, Prudential Financial; Aimee Mullins, Activist; Elizabeth Nunez, Author; Kristen M. O’Hara, Chief Marketing Officer, Time Warner Global Media; Ai-jen Poo, Director of the National Domestic Workers Alliance (NDWA); Shulamit Reinharz, Jacob S. Potofsky Professor of Sociology, Director of the Hadassah-Brandeis Institute, and Director of the Women’s Studies Research Center, Hadassah-Brandeis Institute 2013 Winner of Research and Scholarship Award; Amy L. Schioldager, Senior Managing Director, Global Head of BlackRock’s Beta Strategies Group; Juhu Thukral, Director of Law and Advocacy, The Opportunity Agenda; Karyn Twaronite, Partner, Ernst & Young LLP.

The National Council for Research on Women acknowledges our Underwriters: BlackRock, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Prudential Financial, and Time Warner Inc. as well as our Sponsors: Bloomberg, The Chubb Group of Insurance Companies, Ernst & Young LLP, Goldman, Sachs & Co., Deborah Slaner Larkin, and Marge Magner. NCRW would also like to acknowledge our Pacesetters: APTMetrics, Inc., Bank of America, Citi, The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America, Morgan Stanley, and Toyota as well as our Trailblazers: Lawrence and Kathy Ashe, Abigail Disney, and Judy Hemberger. The Council also wants to recognize the members of our Honorary Committee: Beth A. Brooke, Mariam K. Chamberlain, Edith W. Cooper, Abigail Disney, Dina Dublon, Eve Ensler, Drew Gilpin Faust, Anita F. Hill, Marge Magner, Nancy Meyer, Gloria Steinem, Sharon C. Taylor, Davia Temin, Marc Weiss, Melinda Wolfe, and Jacki Zehner as well as the contributions of our Dinner Co-Chairs Deborah Slaner Larkin and Kathleen K. Lundquist as well as Board Chair, Lucie Lapovsky.

Preceding the Awards Dinner will be an Afternoon Forum: Leading to Economic Security at The Kimmel Center at New York University which will feature experts who will explore the linkages between strengthening women’s leadership and building greater economic security for America’s vulnerable communities. The forum will feature Mimi Abramovitz, Bertha Capen Reynolds Professor of Social Policy at Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College; Amelia Erwitt, Executive Director and Associate Commissioner, NYC Department of Consumer Affairs, Office of Financial Empowerment; and Janelle Angela James, Marketing Communications Consultant, Frequency540 . The forum will be moderated by Cindy Rodriguez, Staff Reporter at WNYC, New York Public Radio. This event is free and open to the public.

The National Council for Research on Women is a network of leading university and community based research, policy, and advocacy centers with a growing global reach dedicated to advancing rights and opportunities for women and girls. We also have a Corporate Circle comprised of senior diversity professionals from leading U.S. and global member companies and a Presidents Circle of college and university leaders who share our commitment. NCRW harnesses the collective power of its network to provide knowledge, analysis, and thought leadership on issues ranging from reducing women’s poverty to building a critical mass of women’s leadership across sectors.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Debbie Kellogg

Jessica Luna
The JFM Group
212-235-1490 14
Email >
Visit website