Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. Honors Top Physicians at Eighth Annual National Physician of the Year Awards Monday, March 18, 2013

Share Article

The Eighth Annual Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. National Physician of the Year Awards will take place on Monday, March 18, 2013 at The Pierre Hotel in New York City.

News Image

The Eighth Annual Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. National Physician of the Year Awards will take place on Monday evening, March 18, 2013 at The Pierre Hotel in New York City. The Awards recognize and honor five exemplary physicians, as well as the many thousands of other excellent physicians practicing in communities throughout the United States. The evening will begin at 6:30 p.m. with cocktails followed by dinner and the awards presentation.

Awards are given to physicians who are nationally recognized leaders and contributors in their specialties.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to physicians for their lifetime of dedication to research and practice in their respective fields. This year, the award will be presented to:

  •     Michael R. Harrison, M.D., Professor Emeritus of Surgery, Pediatrics, Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences; Founding Director of the Fetal Treatment Center – University of California, San Francisco
  •     Sterling B. Williams, M.S., M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology - George Washington University Medical School; Vice President for Education - American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

The Clinical Excellence Award, recognizing physicians who exemplify excellence in clinical medical practice, will be presented to:

  •     Gopal Badlani, M.D., Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Urology - Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
  •     Jo A. Hannafin, M.D., Ph.D., Attending Orthopedic Surgeon and Director of Orthopaedic Research - Hospital for Special Surgery; Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery - Weill Cornell Medical College
  •     Jerry A. Shields, M.D., Director, Oncology Service - Wills Eye Institute; Professor of Ophthalmology - Thomas Jefferson University

The National Health Leadership Award is awarded to a non-physician for outstanding dedication and work with an organization that has served to heighten the awareness of the need for support and research for that specific cause. Dawn Halfaker, President and CEO of Halfaker and Associates, LLC and President of the Board of Directors of the Wounded Warrior Project, will receive this year’s National Health Leadership Award.

John K. Castle, Chairman, and John J. Connolly, Ed.D., President and CEO of Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., William Liss-Levinson, Ph.D., Vice President, Chief Strategy and Operations Officer, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. and Jean Morgan, M.D., Vice President, Chief Medical and Research Officer, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. will be among the Awards Presenters for the evening. Dr. Steve Salvatore, host of “Dr. Steve,” Tribune’s nationally syndicated TV show, will be the Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

About the National Physician of the Year Awards
Each year, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. receives thousands of nominations from physicians and the medical leadership of major medical centers, specialty hospitals, teaching hospitals as well as regional and community medical centers across the United States as an integral part of our research, screening and selection process to identify America’s Top Doctors®. The selected physicians, while located in all 50 states and involved in more than 70 medical specialties and subspecialties, all share one distinguishing professional attribute: an unwavering dedication to their patients and to medicine as a whole. Each and every one of these outstanding medical professionals is a symbol of the clinical excellence that characterizes American medicine. In honor of these outstanding physicians, as well as the many thousands of other excellent physicians practicing in communities throughout the United States, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. created the National Physician of the Year Awards.

About Castle Connolly Medical Ltd.
Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. is America’s trusted source for identifying top doctors. Founded in 1991 by John K. Castle, (Chairman) and John J. Connolly, Ed.D. (President and CEO), who served as board chairman, President and CEO of New York Medical College, respectively, its mission is to help consumers find the best healthcare. They achieve that mission through their consumer guides – such as America’s Top Doctors® – their web site and various consumer and business-oriented print and online partnerships. Under the direction of its physician-led research team, Castle Connolly surveys tens of thousands of physicians and hospital executives in order to identify, screen and, ultimately select those physicians regarded by their peers as leaders - among the very best – in their specialties and for specific diseases and techniques. Castle Connolly’s valuable top doctors information can also be found online at

For press information, please contact Mitchell Manning Associates at (212) 980-1711, fax to (212) 980-1615 or email info(at)mitchellmanning(dot)com.

To contact Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., please call William Liss-Levinson, Ph.D. at (212) 367-8400 ext. 114, fax to (212) 367-0964 or email bliss-levinson(at)castleconnolly(dot)com.

For information on the awards and to purchase tickets to the awards, please call Beverly Fox at (212) 317-6413, fax to (212) 888-5460/attention Beverly Fox or email bfox(at)castleharlan(dot)com. Tickets are $200 per person.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Piera Sacino
Mitchell Manning Associates
Email >
Visit website