The Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR), released by the Web Marketing Association, Provides Newly-Compiled Information about the Best in Design and Function for Websites

Share Article

New Web Marketing Association Report Details Trends in Award Winning Websites Derived from More than a Decade of Web site judging for the WebAwards Web site development competition.

WebAward 2008 Logo

Once the total user experience is attained, the site becomes a sales tool itself because it has captured the visitor and the winners of the WebAward do this especially well. - The Web Marketing Association, today released its Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR), which provides industry-specific benchmarking data for web development. The ISAR Index reversed a downward trend and the overall standard of excellence in Web development rose across 96 industries.

The ISAR index is an average of all scores in the Web Marketing Association's WebAward competition sine 1997. Index rose from 50.7 in 2005 to 51.8 in 2007, an increase of 2%.

"The ISAR Index is the benchmark that many organizations use to compare their Web development efforts to', said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. "Web standards move as the technology and consumer trends push companies to upgrade their Web efforts and are reflected in the judges scores. Web sites that can create a total user experience that both informs and entertains the visitors who reach their sites will be most successful."

The ISAR report includes the following just-released information:

  •     Detailed Industry findings as compared to historical trends
  •     Best and Worst Industries in Web Development
  •     Best and Worst Industries as they compare to the 7 criteria for a successful Website
  •     Award-wining sites for each industry
  •     Commentary for each industry as compared to the overall competition in 2007

Information within the report is derived form the Web Marketing Association's annual WebAward competition ( which judges websites in 96 industries based on the seven criteria that combined help create award-winning websites.

The WebAward's seven criteria for a successful Website include:

  •     Design
  •     Innovation
  •     Content
  •     Technology
  •     Interactivity
  •     Copywriting
  •     Ease of Use

The ISAR report also includes an index with a running benchmark of web development to which each industry can draw comparisons. For example, the chart below shows how Small Business websites compare to the WebAward index across the 7 judging criteria.

Drawing off information found in the ISAR report, web developers and others within organizations responsible for web design, can leverage statistical data to make more informed decisions in an effort to create more effect websites.

"The most successful award-winning websites develop the correct balance of design, innovation and technology to create a total user experience," said Rice. "Once the total user experience is attained, the site becomes a sales tool itself because it has captured the visitor and the winners of the WebAward do this especially well."

According to the ISAR report, the five best industries for Website development in 2007 were:
1.    Toy & Hobby Web sites
2.    Television Web sites
3.    Airline Web sites
4.    Arts Websites
5.    Broadcasting Web sites

The worst overall industry websites included those such as Regional, Consulting and Investment websites.

To request your copy of the 2008 WebAward ISAR report, please visit: and click on the ISAR link.

Web Developers anxious to see how their site compares with the ISAR Index can enter the 2008 WebAward competition in April and receive valuable feedback regarding their web development efforts. Learn more at

About WebAwards
Now in its 12th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website