Second Group of Winners Announced in Annual International Writers of the Future Contest

Share Article

2nd Quarter Winners continue the contest year and Volume 29 of L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future

News Image
The finalist stories were exceptionally good this quarter.

The 2nd Quarter winners of the 29th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today. "The finalist stories were exceptionally good this quarter," contest judge Nina Kiriki Hoffman said.


Alisa Alering 1st Place - from Indiana
Eric Cline 2nd Place - from Maryland
Kodiak Julian 3rd Place - from Washington state

They were chosen from a group of 8 finalists and are now awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. Alisa, Eric and Kodiak will receive a cash prize for their win this quarter.

Alisa is a photo researcher and librarian, Eric is a an aspiring writer and is a former college level English teacher, and Kodiak works in education reform and is a fantasy writer. Alisa, as first place for the quarter, will now compete with the 1st place winners each quarter for the Grand Prize of $5,000.00.

Contest judges include, Tim Powers, author of On Stranger Tides, Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert, Dune, Todd McCaffrey the Dragons of Pern series, Robert J. Sawyer Flash Forward, Robert Silverberg, Sailing to Byzantium, Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, A Mote in God's Eye, and Orson Scott Card, The Abyss, to name a few.

Literary legend L. Ron Hubbard started the contest in 1984 to help new writers get a leg up in a very competitive field. The contest has launched the careers of hundreds of authors and 11 New York Times bestsellers.

For more information about the contest, go to
On the home page click on “contest rules.”

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website