Collegiate Inventors Competition® Presents 2013 Finalists

Share Article

Undergraduate and graduate students will compete in Alexandria, Va. for distinguished honor.

News Image
These students epitomize what it means to achieve great things.

Invent Now, Inc. and the National Inventors Hall of Fame are pleased to announce the 2013 finalists of the Collegiate Inventors Competition. The annual competition, sponsored by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and AbbVie Foundation, recognizes undergraduate and graduate students for their outstanding work and achievements in the fields of science, engineering and technology. With inventions as diverse as a next-generation cancer chemotherapy patch and an improved technique for converting seawater to usable water, this year’s finalists will undoubtedly change the future of our world with their innovative creativity and entrepreneurial aspirations.

“These students epitomize what it means to achieve great things,” says judge and National Inventors Hall of Fame Inductee Steve Sasson, inventor of the digital camera. “As an Inductee, I find it an honor to have the opportunity to be able evaluate their work and learn from the teamwork they demonstrate. My fellow judges and I look forward to meeting all of the finalists and experiencing their enthusiasm as they propose novel solutions to important issues facing our society.”

The finalists will travel to Alexandria, Va., to present their inventions on November 11 to an esteemed panel of judges, which includes Inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame. The winners will be announced on November 12 at an event taking place at the United States Patent and Trademark Office in Alexandria. The top undergraduate winner will receive $12,500 and the top graduate winner will receive $15,000. Second and third place winners will also be recognized with cash prizes.

The 2013 finalists are:

Scott Ho, Jessica Kuhlman, Andy Thompson
University of Utah
Mechanical Leech

Lauren Davis, Michael Kofron, Stella Latscha, Anthony Stroffolino
University of Pennsylvania
H.E.R.A.L.D: Hybrid Exploration Robot for Air and Land Deployment

Matthew Nojoomi, Michael Pan, Kamal Shah, Erica Skerrett
Rice University

Elizabeth Beattie, Nicholas McGill, Nicholas Parrotta, Nikolay Vladimirov
University of Pennsylvania
Titan Arm: A Powered Upper Body Exoskeleton

Nikhil Mehandru, Aaron Perez, Alydaar Rangwala, Brandon Sim
Harvard University
ChemoPatch: A Next-Generation Cancer Chemotherapy Patch

Piyush Poddar, Sandya Subramanian, Kevin George, Aaron Chang
Johns Hopkins University
The PrestoPatch

Alexander Richter
North Carolina State University

Arlyne Simon
University of Michigan
Highly Accurate, No-Wash, Bioassay for Multiplexed Detection of Plasma Proteins

Brian McVerry
University of California, Los Angeles
A Scalable Method to Produce Anti-Fouling Reverse Osmosis Membranes

Isaac Kinde
Johns Hopkins University
The PapGene Test: Early Detection of Ovarian and Endometrial Cancers

Kipp Weiskopf, Aaron Ring
Stanford University
Engineered SIRPα Variants as Immunotherapeutic Adjuvants to Anti-Cancer Antibodies

Nigel Reuel
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Label-Free Nanosensors to Control Antibody Drug Production and Quality

Nisarg Shah
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
A Bioactive Interface for Implant Bonding and Tissue Repair

This year’s finalists were chosen after being judged by experts in various technological fields on the originality of the idea, process, or technology, level of student initiative, as well as potential value and usefulness to society. This year’s final round judges include 10 Inductees from the National Inventors Hall of Fame: Alfred Y. Cho (Molecular Beam Epitaxy), Eric Fossum (CMOS Sensor), Marcian “Ted” Hoff (Microprocessor), Don Keck (Optical Fiber), Alois Langer (Implantable Defibrillator), Steve Sasson (Digital Camera), Klaus Schmiegel (Prozac® Antidepressant), Gary Starkweather (Laser Printer), James West (Electret Microphone) and Robert Willson (Plasma Display). In addition, the judging panel will include experts from AbbVie Foundation and the USPTO.

About the Collegiate Inventors Competition
The Collegiate Inventors Competition promotes innovation and recognizes researchers early in their careers and rewards students’ pioneering breakthrough research as they address the problems of today’s world. The Competition encourages college students to be active in science, engineering, mathematics, technology, and creative invention. It specifically recognizes and rewards the innovations, discoveries, and research by college and university students and their advisors for projects leading to inventions that may have the potential of receiving patent protection. Introduced in 1990, the Competition has awarded more than $1 million to winning students for their innovative work and scientific achievement through the help of its sponsors. For more information on the Competition’s sponsors, AbbVie Foundation and the USPTO, visit and For more information on the Competition, this year’s finalists and past winners, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Annie Miller
Invent Now
+1 800-968-4332 6914
Email >

Lara Kretler
Visit website