2013 Sixth Annual Bel-Air Film Festival Announces Winners

Share Article

The 2013 Sixth Annual Bel-Air Film Festival (Los Angeles) announces winning line-up of films from festival.

The 2013 Bel-Air Film Festival (BAFF), sponsored by Los Angeles Magazine, in its sixth year was held October 7th-13th throughout Los Angeles. The event included an array of film panels, screenings, and after parties. Venue locations included Hammer Museum, William Morris Endeavor Theater, UCLA James Bridges Theater, USC Ray Stark Family Theater, and Columbia College of Hollywood. Forty-three (43) films were screened in total; sixteen (16) World Premiere Films, three (3) West Coast Premiere Films, and four (4) Los Angeles Premiere Films. This festival held free community events with complimentary screenings at USC’s Ray Stark Theater and Columbia College of Hollywood. A Red Carpet GALA was held at the Hammer Museum October 10th, screening the World Premiere Feature Film, Producer Sam, followed by an after party. Rumer Willis was honored with a Dedication and Film Award, alongside Jayson Blair Dedication in Television Award, and Producer Erika Fraaed Visionary Screenwriter and Producer Award. The evening was hosted by Christina Collard (HBO’s Girls Guide to Depravity).

“The Bel-Air Film Festival’s Sixth Annual event was our best year yet. I am pleased to announce the stellar line-up of our winning films.” - Melody Storm, President Bel-Air Film Festival

Winners of the festival were announced on October 13th in a private ceremony at the William Morris Endeavor Theater.

"Return to a Hiding Place" received three Jury Awards for Best Jury Feature Film, Best Jury Feature Film Cinematography, and Best Jury Feature Film Directing. Written and directed by Peter Spencer, the film is based on a true story about a group in Holland called The Resistance that fought against the Nazis to save lives and help the Jews during the World War II Era.

"The Boarder" won Best Audience Feature Film Award. The film’s lead actor Andy Scott Harris won Best Jury Feature Film Lead Actor. Written by Jane Ryan, and directed by Jolene Adams, the film is a story about a family that adopts a child who has Reactive Attachment Disorder. Based on a true story and life experiences of the film’s writer Jane Ryan. The Boarder is an honest portrayal of the real life experiences of families with children who have experienced trauma at an early age in their life. Cast includes Leslie Stevens, Carlton Wilborn, Andy Scott Harris, and Dee Wallace.

"Unclaimed," directed by Emmy Award Winner Michael Jorgensen, received Best Jury Documentary Award. Embarking on a routine missionary trip, veteran and missionary, Tom a former Vietnam Veteran, discovers a man, John Robertson, claiming to be an MIA (missing in action) vet surviving in the jungle for decades. 40 years after the war that radically altered his life as a young man, Tom returns to Vietnam to reunite Robertson with his family in the United States.

"Antarctica: A Year on Ice" received Best Jury Documentary Film. Written and directed by Anthony Powell, this feature-length documentary film reveals what it is like to live and work at the bottom of the planet, in Antarctica, for a full year. The story is not from the point of view of scientists, but of the people who spend the most time there; the everyday workers who keep the stations running in the harshest place on the planet. The film explores unparalleled access, and never before seen stunning footage of the deep Antarctic winters.

"The Gun, The Cake, and the Butterfly" won both Best Jury Documentary Film Editing Award and Best Audience Documentary Award. Written and Directed by Amanda Eliasch. An experimental and stylish docudrama portrait of London socialite/fashion editor/poet/writer/artist, Amanda Eliasch. Using a variety of actresses as Eliasch's alter egos, this seductive glimpse into her life spans childhood in the English countryside to her adult years looking for fulfillment in all corners of the globe. A woman full of character and complexity, Eliasch inhabits a modern world of luxury and heartache.

"Success Driven" won Best Audience Short Film Award. Executive Produced by Lloyd Klein and written and directed by Scott J. Harris. "Success is a journey, not a destination." The closing line of the Bel-Air Film Festival Best Audience Short Film Winner, Success Driven, pretty much sums up not only the protagonist of film's journey, but also the film itself. The original concept, a brainchild of fashion mogul Lloyd Klein and new recording artist Mohammad, was developed into screenplay form by Scott J. Foster. A team was soon assembled, placing Yancey Arias of NYC Films at the helm as director, with Klein, Arias and Foster producing. The film, starring Mohammad Molaei, nom d'arte Mohammad, is a breathtaking semi-autobiographical saga of a Middle Eastern singer who lands in America to become the most sought after musical talent in the world. The cast is rounded out quite elegantly, with Hollywood stars Steven Bauer (Scarface, Traffic) and Serena Scott Thomas (The World Is Not Enough). "The entire cast and crew are delighted that Success Driven garnered such a prestigious award in the company of so many wonderful films this year at the BAFF," says Executive Producer Lloyd Klein.

"Delarosa" won Best Audience Student Short Film Award. Written and directed by student filmmaker Blake Simon, the film follows the story of a man, Don, who comes home one day to find a note from his wife saying that she has left him. The note contains his wife's destination, and the film follows Don as he embarks out to recover his wife, meeting many people along the way who attempt to discourage Don's journey. Don however, will stop at nothing to get back what he wants.

For more information about the Bel-Air Film Festival, please visit http://www.belairfilmfestival.com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Melody Storm
+1 310-776-5190
Email >
Visit website