2013 Yosemite International Film Festival Announces Winners

Share Article

Stephen Fenech’s “Chad Exodus” wins the Grand Jury Award, the festival’s top honor.

The 5th annual Yosemite International Film Festival is pleased to announce the winners and official finalists of the 2013 competition season. A complete list of the winners and official finalists can be viewed on the contest’s website, http://www.yosemitefilmfestival.com.

The Yosemite International Film Festival awards recognition for some of the world's finest and most visionary independent films made by many of the leading contemporary artists and creative minds working in cinema and screenwriting today. The judges selected one exclusive winner from each Award Tier and Best of Category, along with the overall Grand Jury Prize Winner, "Chad Exodus" directed by Stephen Fenech, selected as the very best project from among all the competition categories, the highest and most acclaimed honor bestowed in the contest.

In addition, an overall Grand Prize Winner and Official Finalists were selected for the annual Screenplay Competition at the discretion of expert judges. Screenplay Competition winners include, Grand Prize Winner, “Restoration Hollywood”, written by Annika Hagem.

This year’s highlights include the Grand Jury Prize Winner, “Chad Exodus” directed by Stephen Fenech, a film depicting a brief overview of the Bororro tribe's exodus across a vast region of Central Africa as they congregate in a part of Chad's Sahel region for their annual celebration of an incredible event called Gerewol; in Special Jury Prize Winner “Mission Africa” directed by Vivien Floris between May and June 2012, Xavier Chevrin took part in a 38-day adventure of driving an electric car through six countries that have no access to electricity; a technological and human challenge; Beat Feature Winner “The Heroes of Arvine Place” directed by Damian Lahey, a film about a widower and struggling children's book editor trying to take care of his career and his two little girls; Bertram Verhaag wins Best Director for his film “The Farmer and his Prince”. The film features the inspiring Prince Charles and the dedicated farmer Wilson, who both share a common vision and mission: organic farming.

“We are very fortunate to have received such a variety of quality films from all over the world,” said Easton Stuart, Executive Director of the Yosemite International Film Festival. “The Festival is significant in the development of fostering the talents of independent filmmakers. After careful consideration, we are pleased to present the absolute best of the 2013 competition.”

2013 Yosemite Film Festival Winners

Grand Jury Award
Chad Exodus directed by Stephen Fenech

Special Jury Prize
Mission Africa directed by Vivien Floris

Best Feature
The Heroes of Arvine Place directed by Damian Lahey

Best Animation
Dan and his Beard directed by Daniel White

Best Director
The Farmer and his Prince directed by Bertram Verhaag

Best First-Time Director
Amunego (In times to Come) directed by Galen Brown

Best Documentary
Wamplers Ascent directed Elizabeth Wampler

Best Documentary Short
Wild Things directed by Daniel Hinerfeld

Best Educational Film
Cyanide Beach directed by John Dougherty

Best Environmental Film
Cryosphere directed by Kurtis Hough

Best Foreign Film
Naked Ambition directed by Joe Wihl

Best Television Pilot
4 Bars a Girl directed by Anthony Calano

Best Nature Film
The Rainforest Waters of Cascadia directed by David Saiget

Best Short Film
Rives directed by Pier-Luc Latulippe

Best Student Film
Resident of The City directed by Adham El Sherif

Official Finalists
Yellow Fever directed by Sophie Rousmaniere
AATSINKI: The Story of Arctic Cowboys directed by Jessica Oreck
The Lost Bird Project directed by Deborah Dickson
Ghost Fish of the Wimahl directed by David Saiget
Return To Tepuis directed by Jenny Nichols
Down The Line directed by Francois-Xavier De Ruydts
Aquarium directed by Philippe Gregone
Magical Night directed by Franscesco Bori
Voices of Transition directed by Nils Aguilar

2013 Screenplay Competition Winners

Grand Prize Winner
Restoration Hollywood written by Annika Hagem    

Official Finalists
The Strings of Her Heart written by Joey Bell
The Red River written by Alicia Courtney
Blue and Green written by J.M. Jensen
Taken by the Anger written by Karen Ettenhuber
Maybe, Not written by David Labato

Media Contact: Easton Stuart | info(at)yosemitefilmfestival(dot)com

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Easton Stuart
Follow us on
Visit website