Nation’s Top Veterans Announced for Distinguished Awards

Share Article

American Veterans Center names 2013 Honorees from WWII to Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Seven distinguished veterans to receive awards November 9th

The American Veterans Center honors these distinguished veterans who have each made American military history in some extraordinary way. Their service spans over 70 years.

Today, the American Veterans Center (AVC), which represents all who have served our country, announced the top veterans for its distinguished 2013 honors. These seven war heroes have served in conflicts ranging from WWII to Operation Iraqi Freedom, and all have shown bravery and valor above and beyond the call of duty during combat. The seven heroes will be awarded at the American Veterans Center Honors, just before Veterans Day.

“The American Veterans Center honors these distinguished veterans who have each made American military history in some extraordinary way. Their service spans over 70 years and we hope that all Americans of all generations can celebrate the extreme bravery of these seven men and the impact they’ve had on our country,” says Jim Roberts, President of the AVC.

The seven honorees for the 2013 American Veterans Center Honors are:

  •     Chester Nez, (New Mexico) – The last survivor of the original “29 Navajo Code Talkers”, who helped devise a code based on his native language, that confounded the Japanese military and helped win WWII. Eager to help his country, Nez lied about his age and enlisted in the 10th grade.
  •     Lt. General Frank Petersen, Jr. (Maryland) – The first African-American Marine Corps aviator and the first African-American Marine Corps General.
  •     Senator Bob Kerrey (Nebraska) – In addition to his political career, Senator Kerrey served in the Vietnam War as a Navy SEAL officer, and was awarded the Medal of Honor in a battle that severely wounded him.
  •     Clint Romesha (North Dakota) – A U.S. Army Staff Sergeant who received the Medal of Honor for actions during the Battle of Kamdesh during the war in Afghanistan.
  •     Frederick James Kroesen, Jr. (Virginia) – A four-star U.S. Army General and commander of NATO Central Army Group, who commanded troops in WWII, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War, and earned the Department of Defense Distinguished Service Medal.
  •     Col. George “Bud” Day (Florida) POSTHUMOUS – A U.S. Air Force colonel and pilot who served during WWII, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War, where he was a prisoner of war for more than 5 years. He is the only recipient of both the Medal of Honor and the Air force Cross.
  •     Chris Kyle (Texas) POSTHUMOUS – A Navy SEAL known as the most lethal sniper in American military history. He served four tours in the second Iraq conflict and was awarded both the Bronze Star, and the Silver Star Medals multiple times.

A detailed list of AVC Honorees, including details about their service and photographs of each, is available at The five living honorees will accept their awards at the Honors Gala on November 9th at 7:00pm at the Renaissance Washington, D.C. Hotel. Family members of the deceased honorees will accept on their behalf.

Interviews from AVC leadership and veteran honorees available upon request.

About the American Veterans Center:

The American Veterans Center (AVC) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit educational foundation dedicated to preserving and promoting the legacy of our military personnel. The Veteran’s Day events are held annually in Washington D.C. as a way to honor those who deserve it most. For more information, please visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Meredith Resnick

Garrett Marquis
Prism Strategies
Email >
Visit website