Scenic Texas Announces New Appointments to Board of Directors

Share Article

Scenic Texas adds new board members from New Braunfels, Lubbock and Canyon Lake.

scenic texas logo

Scenic Texas announces the appointment of three new board members. The new appointments are Kathleen Krueger, Former Mayor Pro-Tem, New Braunfels; Paul Robert Goebel, Associate Dean at Texas Tech University, Lubbock; and Chris Cornwell, former PepsiCo Food Scientist, Canyon Lake.

Scenic Texas provides important leadership throughout the state. Work includes providing educational and resource materials to Texas cities that are establishing or revising ordinances impacting their streetscapes. Scenic Texas also supports urban forestry projects, tree planting and preservation initiatives, the creation of scenic roads and districts, establishment and funding of parks and green space, and highway landscaping.

Kathleen Krueger, former Mayor Pro-Tem of the New Braunfels City Council, has always been dedicated to the preservation of the natural beauty that exists in Texas. In addition to Scenic Texas, Krueger spends valuable time serving on the Board of the Hill County Alliance. Previously, Krueger was president of the Diplomatic Women’s Association and led an International Red Cross expedition into the Kalahari Desert. Together with her husband, U.S. Senator and then Ambassador Bob Krueger, she is the co-author of the book “From Bloodshed to Hope,” sharing about her years in Burundi.

Paul Robert Goebel, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, Rawls College of Business, Texas Tech University. A former chairman of the City of Lubbock Planning and Development Commission, Dean Goebel has been the driving force behind scenic enhancement initiatives in the Lubbock area for decades.

Chris Cornwell, retired from PepsiCo after a rewarding 25-year career, currently resides in Canyon Lake. Cornwell’s passion for ensuring the preservation of Texas’ natural character was sparked when he became familiar with, and ultimately relocated to, the Guadalupe River and Canyon Lake areas. He is the current President of Scenic Comal County, a chapter of Scenic Texas, Inc.

These new appointments join 13 other Scenic Texas board members from across the state, dedicated to preserving and enhancing the visual character of Texas.

Scenic Texas, Inc., is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation and enhancement of our state’s visual environment, particularly as seen by the traveling public.

For more information about Scenic Texas, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Anne Culver
Follow us on
Visit website