Winners of the 2013 World Technology Awards Announced

Share Article

Individuals & companies recognized for innovations of "the Greatest Likely Long-term Significance."

The World Technology Awards program is a very inspiring way to identify and celebrate the most innovative people and organizations in the technology world. These are people creating the 21st Century.

The World Technology Network ("The WTN," announced today the names of the Winners in 10 corporate and 20 individual categories for the prestigious World Technology Awards. Presented by the WTN in association with TIME, Fortune, CNN, and others, the World Technology Awards have been called "the Oscars of the technology world" in part because of their peer-review selection process. The Winners join the WTN membership -- a roster of organizations (Corporate Members) and individuals (WTN Fellows) from over 40 countries around the world.

The World Technology Awards have been presented by the WTN since 2000, as a way to honor those in 20 different categories of science and technology and related fields doing "the innovative work of the greatest likely long-term significance." The annual World Technology Awards process is an intensive global one, lasting many months. The Award nominee pool this year of over 700 nominees came from three sources: names put forward by the WTN Fellows (winners and finalists from previous annual Award cycles in the individual Award categories); research by the WTN staff; and, to a lesser extent, from nominations from individuals and companies themselves.

Finalists for the Awards were selected by the WTN Fellows who are eligible to vote for their top five preferences in order from within their own category. The collective preferences of the WTN Fellows determine the Finalists. The new Finalists then became the latest group of WTN Fellows (for individuals) and WTN Corporate Members (for organizations). The Winners were selected by the WTN from among the Finalists with the input of advisors and were announced at a ceremony at the Time & Life Building on November 15, 2013.

The Awards gala occurred at the close of the World Technology Summit, a two-day "thought leadership" conference (November 14/15) in the TIME & LIFE Building in association with the WTN’s partner organizations. Most of the delegates to the Summit were 2013 Award nominees, current WTN members (winners and finalist from previous Awards cycles), as well as other leaders from business, technology, and industry.

At this year’s Summit, in addition to the keynotes, on-stage “demos”, other speakers, as well as exhibits, the WTN inaugurated it Global Challenges program by spending a half-day of facilitated idea-generation around a single global challenge selected for 2013: End Global Hunger in a Decade. A wide variety of fresh ideas were generated and will be presented to various agencies which are eagerly awaiting the results of this anti-hunger initiative.

"This year we are more eager than ever to pay tribute to the talent and innovation of our individual and corporate honorees," says James P. Clark, Founder and Chairman of the World Technology Network. "Each year, with the participation of our extraordinary membership and the help of our sponsors and partners, we strengthen this platform to honor the most visionary and impactful contributions in the science and technology arenas." Clark adds, "The World Technology Awards program is not only a very inspiring way to identify and celebrate the most innovative people and organizations in the technology world, but it also is a truly disciplined way for the WTN membership to identify those who will formally join them, as WTN Fellows and Corporate Members, as part of our global community. These are the people creating the 21st Century. By working to make connections among our members, we look forward to assist in a truly positive way in continuing to help determine our collective future and change our world."

About the WTN

The WTN is a curated membership community comprised of the world's most innovative individuals and organizations in science, technology, and related fields. The WTN and its members - those creating the 21st century -- are focused on exploring what is imminent, possible, and important in and around emerging technologies.

The WTN exists to "encourage serendipity" -- the happy accidents of colliding ideas and new relationships that cause the biggest breakthroughs for individuals and institutions. The WTN works to accomplish its mission through global and regional events for its members and extended audience, to help make connections among them, and to examine the likely implications and possible applications of emerging technologies.

For more information about the World Technology Network, and for contact information, please visit:


James P. Clark
The World Technology Network
917 256 9903

The winners of the 2013 World Technology Awards

Daan Roosegaarde, Artist & Innovator
Studio Roosegaarde

23andMe, Inc.

Gustavo Stolovitzky, Manager, Functional Genomics and Systems Biology
IBM Research


Louis von Ahn, CEO, Duolingo; Co-inventr, CAPTCHA; Inventor, reCAPTCHA

Doris Sung, Principal, DOSU Studio Architecture LLC
Assistant Professor, School of Architecture, USC

Jose Ferreira, Founder & CEO, Knewton, Inc.

Tesla Motors, Inc.

Michael Adams, Distinguished Research Professor,
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Georgia


Cristina Sylla, Sergio Concalves Pedro Branco, Clara Coustinho, Researchers,
engageLab, University of Minho, Portugal




Mark J. Post, Professor of Vascular Physiology,
Head, Department of Physiology, University Maastricht, Netherlands


Mariarosaria Taddeo, Fellow in Cyber Security and Ethics
Department of Politics and International Studios (PAIS)
University of Warwick




Kai-Fu Lee, Founder, Chairman & CEO, Innovation Works


Lawrence Bonassar & Jason Spector, Associate Professor & Associate Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Cornell University


IBM (Watson Technologies)


Kiva Systems, LLC


David Hanson, Founder & CEO, Hanson Robotics Inc.




Eldad Farkash, Co-Founder & CTO, SiSense Ltd.


Erica Palmerini, RoboLaw, Project Coordinator;
Professor, Scuola Superiore Sant’ Anna, Italy


Marco Gomes, Founder & CMO, boo-box, Brazil


Arjowiggins Creative Papers


Alan J. Heeger, Professor of Physics and Materials
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
UC Santa Barbara


Eric Schmidt & Jared Cohen, Executive Chairman, Google, Inc; Director, Google Ideas


Julian Paul Assange, Founder, Wikileaks

Jessica Matthews & Julia Silverman, Co-Founder & CEO
Uncharted Play, Inc.

NASA – Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)

William Borucki, Principal Investigator
NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA

For a full list of the 2013 winners, finalists, and other nominees, please visit:

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Beth-Ellen Keyes
Visit website