Embry-Riddle Cadets Receive Top Honors from Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation

Share Article

Two Prescott Campus Seniors Earn National Nods For Outstanding Achievements

Two Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University’s Prescott Campus Army ROTC cadets recently were recognized nationally for courage, selflessness, and exemplary achievement in academic and military pursuits.

Cadet Shaelyn Layton, a senior studying Global Security and Intelligence Studies (GSIS), has received the Medal of Honor and a scholarship award of $5,000 from the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation.

This prestigious award, given each year to one Army ROTC cadet nationally, was presented to Layton by former Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation (CMHF) president, Retired Lt. Gen. Nicholas Kehoe, and Congressional Medal of Honor recipient Frederick Ferguson.

Ferguson and Kehoe, who came to the Prescott Campus this week, also presented Embry-Riddle Prescott Army ROTC Cadet and GSIS senior Kyle Richardson the Medal of Honor Distinguished Achievement Scholarship for $4,000. This also is an award that is only presented to one recipient annually.

In choosing Layton and Richardson, the foundation cited their spirit of courage, selflessness, service to country, pursuit of academic and excellence in their academic and military endeavors, and extracurricular activities.

“Many thanks to the Medal of Honor Foundation and the brave Medal of Honor recipients whom the foundation represents for recognizing cadets Layton and Richardson as their top national Army ROTC scholarship recipients,” said Dr. Frank Ayers, Chancellor of Embry-Riddle’s Prescott Campus. “Both of these great young people represent the many outstanding citizen soldiers that Embry-Riddle’s western campus is proud to graduate.”

Each year, recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor – the nation’s highest award for wartime acts of valor awarded by the President of the United States in the name of Congress – reach out across the nation to honor unsung heroes. Medal of Honor scholarships are awarded to outstanding students enrolled in the Reserve Officer Training Corps programs of the Army, Air Force, Navy and Marine Corps. Awards are based on the candidate’s demonstrated leadership performance and a strong commitment to serve in the U.S. armed forces.

About Embry-Riddle
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, the world’s largest, fully accredited university specializing in aviation and aerospace, is a nonprofit, independent institution offering more than 40 baccalaureate, master’s and Ph.D. degree programs in its colleges of Arts and Sciences, Aviation, Business and Engineering. Embry-Riddle educates students at residential campuses in Daytona Beach, Fla., and Prescott, Ariz., and through the Worldwide Campus with more than 150 locations in the United States, Europe, Asia and the Middle East. The university is a major research center, seeking solutions to real-world problems in partnership with the aerospace industry, other universities and government agencies. For more information, visit http://www.embryriddle.edu.

Ray Preston
Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications, Prescott Campus
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Office: (928) 777-6636
Cell: (480) 734-8854

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Melanie Hanns, Director of University Communications
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
+1 (386) 226-7538
Email >