Dallas, Texas (PRWEB) January 30, 2014
WirelessDefensiveDriving.com brings Texas' drivers a condensed version of some of the new laws that will be in effect for 2014 in Texas. During the 2013 year, the Texas legislation has passed several new laws. Below are some of the ones WirelessDefensiveDriving.com wants to make sure are highlighted.
1 - Texting in a school zone.
While the law already made it illegal to use a cell phone in a school zone, the new law extend the ban to all school property, including parking lots and dropoff lanes. Violators face fines of up to $200. Exceptions are still a stopped vehicle or the use of hands free devices.
2 - Passing school buses.
A new law increased the fines for passing a school bus (when its flashing lights and stop signs are active) from $200 to $1,000 to the new range is $500 to $1,250.
The change was instigated by the research by the National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services showed that many drivers were not taking the rules against passing stopped school buses seriously enough.
3 - Vehicles belonging to TxDot.
Texas motorist have know to move over for police cars, fire trucks and ambulances for a long time.
That same rule now applies to Texas Department of Transportation crews. Drivers will have to slow down or move over when approaching TxDOT vehicles that are stopped and flashing blue or amber lights.
One negative note is the failed attempt to bring a no texting and riving ban in Texas. House Bill 63 was defeated in the Senate meaning that Texas will not have a ban on texting while driving for at least another two years.
WirelessDefensiveDriving.com teaches defensive driving Texas rules all over the State of Texas.