Telecom operator, Innovation and CEO shortlists announced for TMT Finance Asia 2014 Awards

Share Article

Axiata, Telstra, China Mobile, China Telecom, Hutchison 3, Ooredoo Asia, Smart Communications, Telenor Asia, Tata Communications, NTT Com, and Singtel all shortlisted for TMT Finance Asia Awards 2014.

Ten Asian telecom operators and six company CEOs have been announced on the final industry shortlists for the TMT Finance Asia 2014 Awards, which recognise the most successful and innovative telecom, media and technology (TMT) companies, financial institutions and advisers.

Axiata of Malaysia, Telstra of Australia, China Mobile, China Telecom, Hutchison 3, Ooredoo Asia, Smart Communications of the Philippines, Telenor Asia, Tata Communications, NTT Com of Japan, Singtel all made it onto the industry shortlists. Shortlists for the other Award categories including TMT Deal of the Year, M&A Adviser and Legal Adviser were announced earlier in December

Winners will be presented following the TMT Finance Asia 2014 Conference, now in its fifth year, on January 16, 2014 at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong.

The TMT Finance Asia Awards, which cover 7 categories, recognise exceptional growth, innovation and deal-making in telecoms, media and technology across the region and are nominated by readers of TMT Finance, the global news service for telecom and finance executives.

An independent judging panel, comprising senior industry leaders from ANZ Banking Group, Barclays Capital, Hardiman Telecommunications, ING, Linklaters, MSLGROUP in Hong Kong, PwC, SES, South China Morning Post and Xona Partners, will assess the shortlists and select the winners from each of the seven categories. For more on the Judges Panel go to

The industry shortlists for the TMT Finance Asia 2014 Awards (in alphabetical order) are:

TMT Operator of the Year

  •     Axiata Group
  •     China Mobile
  •     Ooredoo Asia
  •     Smart Communications
  •     Telenor Asia
  •     Telstra

TMT Leadership Award Shortlist

  •     Dato' Sri Jamaludin Ibrahim, President and Group CEO, Axiata
  •     Napoleon Nazareno, President and CEO, PLDT and Smart Comms
  •     Dr Nasser Marafih, Group CEO, Ooredoo
  •     Sigve Brekke, Executive VP and Head of Telenor Asia
  •     Vinod Kumar, CEO, Tata Communications
  •     Wang Xiaochu, Chairman and CEO, China Telecom

TMT Innovation Award Shortlist

  •     China Unicom China – OTT Partnerships
  •     Hutchison 3 Hong Kong – Innovation Partnerships
  •     NTT Com Japan – Cloud Services
  •     SK Telecom Korea – LTE / 4G
  •     SingTel Singapore – Mobile Advertising
  •     Smart Communications Philippines – Innovation Services

TMT Finance Asia Awards provide a benchmark of aspiration for the companies nominated, and world class recognition for winners. The TMT Finance Asia 2014 Conference provides a unique platform for leaders from telecoms, media, technology, finance and advisory institutions to meet and debate growth opportunities for Asia.

For more information or to register for the TMT Finance Asia 2014 Conference and Awards go to

For all enquiries email enquiries(at)tmtfinance(dot)com

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Dominic Lowndes
TMT Finance
+44 2078649933
Email >
since: 02/2010
Follow >
Visit website