IHG Owners Association Announces Board Members for 2013-2014

Share Article

IHG Owners Association Announces New Officers

The IHG Owners Association, which represents the owners of InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG®) hotels worldwide, has announced that Bakulesh (Buggsi) Patel has assumed the chairmanship of its Board of Directors. Patel is Chief Executive Officer of BHG Hotels in Portland, Oregon, which owns and operates 23 hotels in six states.

Patel assumed the chairmanship at the IHG Americas Investors Conference, recently held in Las Vegas, where he spoke of his journey to leadership and how those experiences will influence his chairmanship. “I never could have imagined that I would one day be carrying on a tradition begun by Kemmons Wilson himself … and have the opportunity to help drive our business forward,” Patel said during his inaugural speech.

“Buggsi’s global experience and strong ties to the Asian-American ownership community will be such an asset to the Owners Association,” noted Eva Ferguson, Association President. “His leadership comes at a pivotal time for the Association as we look for ways to better serve our worldwide community of IHG owners.”

In addition, the IHG Owners Association announced Officers for 2013 - 2014: Kerry Ranson (Chairman-elect) of Expotel Hospitality, Louisiana; Steve Ehrhardt (Secretary/Treasurer) of Ehrhardt Properties, Missouri; Allen Fusco (Vice-Chairman) of DENA Enterprise, New York; Mike Hembree (Immediate Past Chairman) of SmartBrands LLC, Oklahoma; and Rick Takach (Past Chairman’s Council Chairman) of Vesta Hospitality, Washington.

New members include Peter Beukema, Surbarban Inns, Michigan; Jerry Dimeo, First Carolina Management, Inc., North Carolina; Stephen Field, Synergy Hospitality, Inc., Pennsylvania; Dan Hansen (At Large), Summit Hotel Properties, Inc., Texas; and Kevin Hilchey (At Large), Lodging Host Hotel Corp., Texas. Also included are the Chairs of all global Association Committees: Patrick De Peuter (Europe), Prem Hotels NV, Belgium; Nigel Greenaway (Australasia), Eureka Funds Management, Australia; Jeff Krivoshen (Canada), P.R. Hotels Ltd.; Pierre Nahas (Latin America & Caribbean), Inexpress Dominica, Dominican Republic; and Joel Zorrilla Vargas (Mexico), Prisma Hoteles De Mexico, Nuevo Leon.

Returning members include Chris Bruch, Donohoe Hospitality Services, Washington, DC; Deepesh Kholwadwala, Sun Capital LLC, New Mexico; Perwez (Perry) Molubhoy, Atlantic Hotels Ltd., Texas; Mehul (Mike) Patel, Newcrest Management LLC, Texas; Vijay Patel, A-1 Hospitality Group, Washington; Brian Quinn, Driftwood Hospitality Management, Florida; Punit Shah, Liberty Group, Florida; Sal Shahriar, Hersha Hospitality Management LP, Pennsylvania; and McLean Wilson, Kemmons Wilson Companies, Tennessee.

IHG Owners Association
The IHG Owners Association represents the interests of owners and operators of more than 3,100 IHG® hotels worldwide. The IHG family of brands includes InterContinental® Hotels & Resorts, Crowne Plaza® Hotels and Resorts, Hotel Indigo™, Holiday Inn® Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Inn Express®, Staybridge Suites®, Candlewood Suites®, EVEN Hotels and Haulauxe. For additional information, visit http://www.owners.org or contact 770-604-5555.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Christine Lambert
Visit website