LEBOY Book Award Winners Released for Fiction, Non-Fiction

Spingola Files Names Law Enforcement Book of the Year Award Winners

  • Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail a friend

Wales, WI (PRWEB) December 30, 2013

Over the course of the past week, the Spingola Files has reviewed almost two dozen books in order to determine the winners of its first annual LEBOY (Law Enforcement Book of the Year) Awards.

The LEBOY Award for non-fiction is given to the book that spotlights a hot topic in law enforcement. This year’s winner is Rise of the Warrior Cop: the Militarization of America’s Police Forces authored by journalist Radley Ralko.

The LEBOY Award for fiction is given to the novel that explores law enforcement through an entertaining perspective. This year’s winner is Psychic Reprieve: Deception & Reality by Mitchell Nevin.

“On the non-fiction front, it was a tough decision,” said Steve Spingola, a retired Milwaukee homicide detective who produces the blog. “John Whitehead’s book A Government of Wolves also ranked high with SF’s reviewers.”

In the fiction category, author Mitchell Nevin’s Wisconsin-based crime novel won “hands down.”

“Psychic Reprieve is good on so many fronts,” said Spingola. “Those residing in Milwaukee, Chicago, or Eau Claire, will recognize several scenes. It is the exploration of serious topics — serial killers, race and justice, and terrorism — mixed with humor that make this novel captivating.”


  • Steve Spingola
    Spingola Group
    +1 (715) 901-1072