Music's Top Celebrities and Industry Executives to Judge 2013 International Songwriting Competition (ISC)

Share Article

Tom Waits, Florida Georgia Line, Nas, Imagine Dragons, Bernie Taupin, Selena Gomez, Garbage, Keane, Joshua Redman, and more join ISC’s judging panel.

ISC Logo

The biggest challenge facing up-and-coming artists is getting their music heard by the music industry’s influential decision-makers, and entering ISC makes this a real possibility.

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is pleased to announce its 2013 panel of judges. Consisting of some of the most iconic and respected artists in the world, the panel also includes top tier music industry executives, including Presidents from six record labels (Universal Republic, Capitol/Virgin, Columbia, Alligator, Wind-Up, and Putumayo), executives from MTV, VEVO, Nickelodeon, publishing companies, and many more.

Candace Avery, Founder and Director of ISC, states, “We are very excited to once again have such an esteemed panel of judges. The biggest challenge facing up-and-coming artists is getting their music heard by the music industry’s influential decision-makers, and entering ISC makes this a real possibility. Whether it’s having their music heard by their favorite recording artist or a record label executive, this is an unprecedented opportunity.”

ISC gives away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes (shared among the 68 winners) including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 (US) cash and $30,000 in prizes. Open to both amateur and professional songwriters, ISC offers 22 categories to enter, representing all genres of contemporary, popular music.

Previous winners have included Grammy winners, chart-topping artists, hobbyist songwriters, and everyone in between. This list includes artists such as Gotye, Kimbra, The Band Perry, Andrew Bird, Kate Miller-Heidke, Gregory Porter, Gin Wigmore, Missy Higgins, Carbon Leaf, King Charles, Omar Sosa, and many more.

ISC 2013 judges include:

Recording Artists: Tom Waits; Nas; Bernie Taupin; Martina McBride; Duran Duran; Garbage; Robert Smith (The Cure); Selena Gomez; Bruce Hornsby; Dido; Michael W. Smith; Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Mark Foster (Foster The People); Alejandro Sanz; Gerald Casale (Devo); Florida Georgia Line; Jason Isbell; Joshua Redman; Brian Setzer; Avicci; Wynonna; Keane; Jeremy Camp; McCoy Tyner; Jon Secada; Ketch Secor (Old Crow Medicine Show); Boney James; Craig Morgan; James Cotton; Black Francis (Pixies); John Mayall; Anoushka Shankar; Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals); Matt Thiessen (Relient K); Chayanne; and more to be announced.

Industry Executives: Monte Lipman (President, Universal Republic Records); Alison Donald (Co-President, Columbia Records UK); Dan McCarroll (President, Capitol/Virgin Label Group); Ed Vetri (President, Wind-Up Records); Bryan Leach (Sr. VP of A&R Urban, RCA Records and President, Polo Grounds Music); Richard Stumpf (President, Imagem Music US); Albert Schilcher (VP Music & Music Mktg, MTV International); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP A&R, Latin America, Sony/BMG); Dan Storper (President, Putamayo World Music Records and Putumayo Kids); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Lori Tieg (VP of Talent, VEVO); Steve Lillywhite (Producer); Kim Buie (Head of A&R, Thirty Tigers); Douglas C. Cohn (Sr. VP, Music Marketing & Talent, Nickelodeon); Jamie Masada (Owner, Laugh Factory); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO, Music For Little People); and more to be announced.

ISC Sponsors: Presonus, Lowden Guitars, Marshall Amplification, Berklee College Of Music, Thayers, Disc Makers, Celebrity Access, Mrs. Fields Cookies, Airplay Direct, TuneCore, The Music Business Registry, Sonicbids,, Independent Mastering, Indie Venue Bible, George Stein, Esq., and Taxi

Please visit for an entry form or more details.

For more information, please email cavery(at)songwritingcompetition(dot)com or call 615.251.4441.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Candace Avery
Email >
Visit website