Scholarship Luncheon at The John Marshall Law School Brings Donors, Recipients Together

Share Article

At a special luncheon Aug. 16, The John Marshall Law School brought together 25 donors in appreciation of their generosity that has enabled the Law School to award scholarships to outstanding students this academic year.

At a special luncheon Aug. 16, The John Marshall Law School brought together 25 donors in appreciation of their generosity that has enabled the Law School to award scholarships to outstanding students this academic year.

Dean John E. Corkery, in addressing the guests at The Standard Club luncheon, reminded the guests that “Your scholarships help our students by giving them the opportunity to develop themselves to the very best of their abilities and encourage our students as they strive for excellence.”

Corkery said by meeting the donors, students got to know leaders in the legal field who are committed to making a difference in the lives of others, especially through their generous support of the law school.

Third-year student Ruphene Sidifall, the 2012 recipient of the Ralph and Evelyn Ruebner Scholarship, spoke about her experience as a Liberian emigrant who escaped with her family at the height of the country’s civil war in 1996. When she arrived in the United States, she promised herself she would not give up on her dream of higher education and the study of law.

“I vowed to pursue the kind of career in law that ensures war criminals are held accountable for their actions,” said Sidifall. “I am learning to help others without reservation and expectation of a reward. I plan to give to a deserving student at John Marshall some kind of assistance in the future, as I was given by Dean and Mrs. Ruebner.”

Ralph Ruebner, associate dean for Academic Affairs at John Marshall, told donors their financial support is critical to helping the law school realize this mission—“To provide excellent legal education that prepares our graduates to practice law, to promote and embrace diversity and to create a community that shares the values and vision of our founders to have The John Marshall Law School become and be Chicago’s law school.”

William Beach, Chief Development Officer, explained how scholarships were critical in his academic and personal development. He encouraged everyone to continue their scholarship support at John Marshall.

Honored guests were 3L Julie Tenuto, recipient of the Frank and Jeanne Lupel and Joseph and Katherine Amari Scholarship, who got to thank donors Leonard Amari (JD ’68), John Marshall Board of Trustees President, and Timothy Hammersmith, Jr. (JD ’93) of Masuda Funai.

Third-year student Mary Sparrow, recipient of the Pam Shu Scholarship, met donor Pamela Shu (JD ’80)of the John Marshall Board of Visitors.

Magdalena Wilk, 3L, received the 2013 Ralph and Evelyn Ruebner Scholarship as well as the Alumni Association Scholarship.

Third-year students David Resis and Paul Schultz, recipients of the Decalogue Society of Lawyers Scholarship, met with donor Gerald Schur (JD ’63).

Joel Friedman (JD ’75) of Horwood Marcus & Berk, donor for the Alvin H. Baum Family Internship, joined Baum interns Diane O’Connell, 3L; Jason Maxfield, 3L; Nina Sykora, 2L; and Marques Berrington, 2L.

Michael Pollock, 2L, The Heart of John Marshall Scholarship in Honor of Miss Criss, met with Marilyn Criss, administrative assistant for Student Affairs and the scholarship’s namesake, and his father David Pollock (JD ’78), for the luncheon.

John Marshall 2013 graduate Myka Bell, recipient of the Fred Hampton Scholarship, met with donor William Hampton, president of the Fred Hampton Scholarship Fund.

Judge Regina Scannicchio (JD ’88) Alumni Association President and Alumni Association Scholarship donor, and Karie Valentino (JD ’96), donor and chairperson of the Alumni Association Scholarship committee, met with Alumni Association scholars Nicholas Esterman, 3L, Sarbani Mukherjee, 2L, Andrew Symns, 3L, and Mary Walters, 3L.

Second-year student Nancy Pina, recipient of the William Rodriguez Memorial Scholarship, met donors Ricardo Meza (JD ’90), executive inspector general for agencies of the Illinois Governor; Joan Pantsios (JD ’75) a retired Cook County assistant public defender; and Professor Cliff and Nancy Scott-Rudnick.

Professor Robert Johnston, donor and namesake of the Robert Gilbert Johnston Endowed Scholarship, met scholarship recipients Lenny Cannata, 2L, and Timothy Oliver, 3L at the luncheon.

And, second-year student Brian Lambert met with Amy Dvorak (JD ’04), donor of the Grotefeld, Hoffmann, Schleiter, Gordon & Ochoa, LLP, Veterans Legal Support Clinic Scholarship.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marilyn Thomas
The John Marshall Law School
+1 (312) 427-2737 661
Email >

Ciara Shook
The John Marshall Law School
Email >
Visit website