CBE Honors Eight Individuals at Pittsburgh Conference

Share Article

Christians for Biblical Equality honored eight individuals with awards at their 2013 conference in Pittsburgh, PA.

News Image

On July 27, Christians for Biblical Equality (CBE) honored eight individuals with awards at the 2013 conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Take Every Thought Captive to Christ: Ideas have Consequences. Award recipients were selected based on their dedication to advancing gender equality in the name of Christ. Each year, nominees are evaluated on various criteria based on three categories of awards. These awards include: Priscilla and Aquila Award, Micah Award, and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Priscilla and Aquila Award honors those who have made sacrifices to further biblical equality. Award recipients reflect the way in which Priscilla and Aquila “risked their lives” (Rom. 16:4) to spread the gospel. This is CBE’s oldest award and dates back to the first conference in 1989. Recipients of this award may have endured public criticism, been dismissed from jobs, or suffered financial, emotional, or psychological hardship, all because of their position as an egalitarian. Kathy Escobar is the 2013 Priscilla and Aquila award recipient. Escobar has proven determination in her egalitarian beliefs, despite facing gender-related discrimination in ministry jobs.

The Micah Award is granted to individuals who demonstrate courage and creativity in fighting abuse and working towards justice for women and children. Nominees are evaluated based on what they have published and lectured on the topic, boards and committees they have served on, as well as work they accomplished through various types of organizations and institutions that advance gender justice. Fatuma Hashi, Emily Nielson Jones, and Sandra Morgan were selected to receive the Micah Award for 2013. This group of recipients includes individuals who have fought against human trafficking, served with national aid organizations, and worked with change agents around the world to transform patriarchal societies.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the culmination of an individual’s efforts to further biblical equality. Established in 2005, this award honors those whose lives are marked by courage, sacrifice, and vision in advancing the biblical basis for gifts-based ministry. Recipients may have published and lectured widely on the topic, or served on boards or worked with institutions to advance biblical equality. They also may have dedicated their time to mentoring and encouraging the gifts of individuals, despite age, ethnicity and gender. At the 2013 conference, Paul Chilcote, Lee Grady, Hugh McNally, and Nancy Pedulla were honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Award recipients this year have published an impressive number of books, taught or worked in leadership at several universities and churches, and have served as directors and chairs for various organizations.

“CBE is proud to honor eight individuals who through their courage, tenacity and grace have made a significant difference in our world for girls and women, for families, churches and denominations,” said Mimi Haddad, President of CBE.

To view a list of past award recipients, visit CBE’s website: http://www.cbeinternational.org/?q=content/cbe-awards.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Charity Kroeker
Follow us on
Visit website