Grand Prize Winner from L. Ron Hubbard's Illustrators of the Future Contest in 1998 Wins Honorable Mention On the Writers Side in 2013

Share Article

Paul Marquis is determined to win both sides of the contest.

Paul Marquis of Palo Alto, California was honored at the 14th Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement awards sixteen year ago and has had a successful illustration career since that time. The event back in 1998 celebrated the twenty-four annual winners in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests, where Paul was the grand prize winner of the twelve illustrator winners that year. His art was published in the bestselling Science Fiction and Fantasy anthology series – L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume XIV. Paul's career has included a multitude of projects but he has now decided to branch out. He is determined to win the Writers of the Future Contest as well, and this past quarter was awarded an Honorable Mention in the writers contest. There are five categories in the contest: a no-win, honorable mention, semi-finalist, finalist and winner.

There have been three others in the history of the contest to win both the writer side and the illustrator side, Stephen Stanley, Geir Lanesskog and Meghan Muriel. Paul is looking to be the 4th such person. He is competing with a half dozen other people who have also won the illustrator contest and are determined to win them both.

The Contest was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 shortly after returning to the field of science fiction with his bestseller Battlefield Earth.

For more information on the contest, go to

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website