Becker's Hospital Review Names 50 Rural Hospital CEOs to Know

Share Article

Becker's Hospital Review has published its inaugural list of "50 Rural Hospital CEOs to Know."

News Image

Becker's Hospital Review has published its inaugural list of "50 Rural Hospital CEOs to Know."

Rural healthcare leaders face certain challenges that are not present in more urban environments. For instance, only about 10 percent of physicians practice in rural areas, according to a 2010 report prepared by the Southwest Rural Health Research Center, which can lead to physician shortages. Additionally, rural residents tend to be poorer, leading to payer mix issues.

This list recognizes rural hospital and health system presidents and CEOs who have shown commitment to providing high-quality, accessible care to their patient populations in the face of those and other rural health challenges.

For this list, a hospital is designated as "rural" if it is located outside of a major metropolitan area or healthcare hub.

Leaders included on the list were selected for awards they have received, membership or involvement in prominent local, state or national organizations, recent accomplishments in their community, and their organization's recent performance. Nominations were also considered.

The leaders included on the list are:

Benjamin Anderson. Administrator and CEO of Kearny County Hospital (Lakin, Kan.).

Douglas Arnold. President and CEO of Helen Keller Hospital (Sheffield, Ala.).

Karen Barber, RN. CEO of Yoakum (Texas) Community Hospital.

Arthur Blank. President and CEO of Mount Desert Island Hospital (Bar Harbor, Maine).

Jay Christensen. CEO of Mahaska Health Partnership (Oskaloosa, Iowa).

Nicole Clapp. President and CEO of Grant Regional Health Center (Lancaster, Wis.).

Marcia Dial. CEO of Scotland County Hospital (Memphis, Mo.).

Vickie Diamond, RN. President and CEO of Wyoming Medical Center (Casper).

James Dickson. CEO of Copper Queen Community Hospital (Bisbee, Ariz.).

Desiree Einsweiler. Administrator and CEO of Palo Alto County Health System (Emmetsburg, Iowa).

Charlie Fahd. CEO of Massena (N.Y.) Memorial Hospital.

Dennis Franks. CEO of Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center (Chanute, Kan.).

John Gardner. CEO of Yuma (Colo.) District Hospital.

Rachel Gonzales, RN. CEO of Madison Memorial Hospital (Rexburg, Idaho).

Roger Hall. President of Sacred Heart Hospital on the Emerald Coast (Miramar Beach, Fla.) and Sacred Heart Hospital on the Gulf (Port St. Joe, Fla.).

Margot Hartmann, MD, PhD. President and CEO of Nantucket (Mass.) Cottage Hospital.

Raymond Hino. CEO of Bear Valley Community Healthcare District (Big Bear Lake, Calif.).

Robert Houser. CEO of Blue Mountain Hospital District (John Day, Ore.).

Tim Jakacki. President of ProMedica Bixby and Herrick Hospitals (Adrian and Tecumseh, Mich.).

Jay Johnson. President and CEO of Duncan (Okla.) Regional Hospital.

Doug Jones. CEO of Down East Community Hospital (Machias, Maine).

Maureen Kahn, RN, MSN. President and CEO of Blessing Hospital (Quincy, Ill.).

Steve Kelly. President and CEO of Newton (Kan.) Medical Center.

Harold Krueger Jr. CEO of Chadron (Neb.) Community Hospital & Healthcare Services.

Michael K. Lally. CEO of Calais (Maine) Regional Hospital.

Robert Letson. CEO of South Peninsula Hospital (Homer, Alaska).

Todd C. Linden. President and CEO of Grinnell (Iowa) Regional Medical Center.

William Mahone. President and CEO of Halifax Regional Medical Center (Roanoke Rapids, N.C.).

Michelle McEwen, CPA. President and CEO of Speare Memorial Hospital (Plymouth, N.H.).

Ray Montgomery III. President and CEO of White County Medical Center (Searcy, Ark.).

Ben Moore III. President and CEO of River Hospital (Alexandra, N.Y.).

Tommy Mullins. CEO of Boone Memorial Hospital (Madison, W.Va.).

Dan Odegaard. CEO of Bigfork (Minn.) Valley Hospital.

Becky Pape. CEO of Samaritan Lebanon (Ore.) Community Hospital.

Larry Price. CEO of Limestone Medical Center (Groesbeck, Texas).

Chandler M. Ralph. President and CEO of Adirondack Health (Saranac Lake, N.Y.).

Steven Rose, RN, MSN. President and CEO of Nanticoke Health Services (Seaford, Del.).

Christina Ryan. CEO of The Women's Hospital (Newburgh, Ind.).

Maria Ryan, PhD, APRN. CEO of Cottage Hospital (Woodsville, N.H.).

Keith Safian. President and CEO of Phelps Memorial Hospital Center (Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.).

Mike Schafer. Administrator and CEO of Spooner (Wis.) Health System.

Rob Schmitt, CPA. CEO of Gibson Area Hospital & Health Services (Gibson City, Ill.).

Rick Schroeder. Administrator and CEO of North Big Horn Hospital (Lovell, Wyo.).

Bryan Slaba. Administrator and CEO of Wagner (S.D.) Community Memorial Hospital-Avera.

Brad Solberg. CEO of Hammond-Henry Hospital (Geneseo, Ill.).

Susan Starling. President and CEO of Marcum & Wallace Memorial Hospital (Irvine, Ky.).

Philip Stuart. CEO of Tomah (Wis.) Memorial Hospital.

Mary Sweet. Administrator of Kiowa County Memorial Hospital (Greensburg, Kan.).

Al Vogt. Administrator and CEO of Cook (Minn.) Hospital.

Debra Wright, RN. CEO of Howard Memorial Hospital (Nashville, Ark.).

The complete list can be read here:

Note: This list is not an endorsement of included hospitals, health systems or associated healthcare providers, and organizations do not and cannot pay for inclusion on this list. Leaders are presented in alphabetical order.

About Becker’s Hospital Review
Becker's Hospital Review is a monthly publication offering up-to-date business and legal news and analysis relating to hospitals and health systems. Our content is geared toward high level hospital leaders, and we work to provide valuable content, including hospital and health system news, best practices and legal guidance specifically for these decision makers. Each issue of Becker's Hospital Review reaches more than 18,000 people, primarily acute-care hospital CEOs and CFOs.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Heather Punke
ASC Communications, Inc.
+1 (312) 448-9249
Email >
Visit website