American College of Bankruptcy Announces 2014 Distinguished Law Students

Share Article

Distinguished Law Students selected for the Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, and Tenth Circuits.

News Image

The American College of Bankruptcy announced today that it has selected its Distinguished Law Students for the Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, and Tenth Circuits for 2014. They will select students from the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits in 2015. The selected students are:

Fifth Circuit
Samer Lawand
SMU Dedman School of Law
Dallas, TX

Sixth Circuit
Marcy E. Walker
University of Memphis
Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
Memphis, TN

Seventh Circuit
Nicole D. Stringfellow
University of Illinois College of Law
Champaign, IL

Eighth Circuit
William J. Schumacher
University of Minnesota Law School
Minneapolis, MN

Tenth Circuit
Kurtis Wiard
Washburn University School of Law
Topeka, KS

The students undergo a rigorous nomination process. Students must be recommended by either a College Fellow, their Professors, or Deans. The nomination must also include the student’s written materials and additional letters of recommendation. Each nominated student must have outstanding academic credentials and an interest in bankruptcy law. All of the nominated students are considered by the Circuit council of their Circuit, which selects the Distinguished Law Student. Only one student is selected from each Circuit. The selected students are awarded an all expense paid trip to the College’s annual Induction Ceremony and Events in Washington D.C. where they have the opportunity to meet and get to know the most distinguished bankruptcy practitioners and judges in the country. The Induction Ceremony and Events will take place March 14th and 15th, 2014.

The 2014 Induction ceremony will take place at the Smithsonian Donald W. Reynolds Center for American Art and Portraiture Museum, and will be presided over by D.J. (Jan) Baker, Chair of the College.

The American College of Bankruptcy is an honorary professional and educational association of bankruptcy and insolvency professionals. The College plays an important role in sustaining professional excellence and supports educational and pro bono efforts in local communities around the country. College Fellows include commercial and consumer bankruptcy attorneys, insolvency accountants, turnaround and workout specialists, law professors, judges, government officials and others involved in the bankruptcy and insolvency community.

For more information about the American College of Bankruptcy, or about the 2014 Distinguished Law Students, contact Shari A. Bedker, Executive Director at 703-934-6154, fax at 703-802-0207, email at sbedker(at)amercol(dot)org.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Shari Bedker
Visit website