International L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future Contest Gala Awards Ceremony Announces Grand Prize Winner Return

Share Article

Irvin Rodriguez pays it forward and will return to speak at annual contest workshop and attend event

Irvin (center) with judges Robert Castillo and Mike Resnick

Cash prizes of $10,000.00 for the grand prize winners alone and inclusion in the 30th annual 'L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future' anthology (Galaxy Press, 2014) make this a very special night.

The 30th anniversary of the L. Ron Hubbard Awards for winners of the internationally-acclaimed Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests will be held in Los Angeles at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre on Sunday, April 13th and contest organizers announced today that Irvin Rodriguez will speak to this years illustrator winners on how to become successful.

Celebrities and luminaries from around the world of science, science fiction and fantasy will be attending the event.

Rodriguez was the illustrator contest grand prize winner for Volume XXVII and has since gone on to a very successful career in animation. He currently works at High 5 Games on the Asian Games team. He works on everything from cartoons to 3D modeled games and will shed light on what it is like to work in animation.

“Cash prizes of $10,000.00 for the grand prize winners alone and inclusion in the 30th annual “L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future” anthology (Galaxy Press, 2014) make this a very special night,” Joni Labaqui, director of the contest said. Presentation of the Gold Awards for the year’s best story and illustration will culminate the evening.

The Writers of the Future Contest and the companion anthology were created by L. Ron Hubbard 30 years ago to help discover new, aspiring writers of speculative fiction and give their best work a high-profile publishing showcase.

To date, the Contests have given rise to scores of flourishing illustration careers, most notably Academy Award Winner Shaun Tan, "The Lost Thing".

The Writers of the Future contest has also launched the careers of a dozen New York Times bestsellers: Dave Wolverton (On My Way to Paradise) , Sean Williams (Star Wars - The Force Unleashed), Karen Joy Fowler (Jane Austin Book Club), Patrick Rothfuss (Name of the Wind,The Wise Man's Fear), Nancy Farmer (The Ear, the Eye and the Arm), Jo Beverley (A Lady’s Secret), Lisa Smedman (Extinction), Tim Myers (Basho and the Fox), Tobias Buckell (Halo: The Cole Protocol), Eric Flint (1632), Dean Wesley Smith (Men In Black), and Elizabeth Wein (Code Name Verity).

The winners are chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges, famous authors in speculative fiction including; Tim Powers, Kevin J. Anderson, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Orson Scott Card, Robert J. Sawyer, Sean Williams, Dave Wolverton, Brian Herbert, Rebecca Moesta, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Gregory Benford, Doug Beason, Eric Kotani, Mike Resnick, Eric Flint, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Dean Wesley Smith, Todd McCaffrey and Nnedi Okorafor.

The just as impressive illustrator judge roster has included in its history: Frank Frazetta, Frank Kelly Freas, Jack Kirby, Dave Dorman, Cliff Nielsen, Vincent Di Fate, Bob Eggleton, Stephen Hickman, Stephan Martiniere, Diane and Leo Dillon, Ron Lindahn, Val Lakey Lindahn, Stephen Youll, H.R.Van Dongen, Laura Freas Beraha, Sergey Poyarkov, Robert Castillo, Gary Meyer and Larry Elmore.

For information and seat reservations, please call Joni Labaqui at 323-466-3310. For more information on the contest please visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website